New Found Freedom

New Found Freedom

by Tom Scott


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


New Found Freedom

Following two albums with a reconstituted L.A. Express, Bluestreak and Smokin' Section, Tom Scott returns to solo frontman duties on his Higher Octave Jazz debut, New Found Freedom, but he does so with a large number of guests. Those guests help broaden the styles of music available on the release, although Scott's own saxophone work remains a touchstone and everything on the disc will be easily programmable on smooth jazz radio. Indeed, the variety gives programmers many choices. Craig Chaquico, a fellow veteran of the 1970s rock scene and now a labelmate, joins Scott with some characteristic acoustic guitar work on the becalmed opener, "Feelin' It," after which adult contemporary singer Ann Nesby croons "You Are My Everything" while Billy Preston joins in on organ. Scott's taste for R&B and funk is on display on "(Don't You Wanna) Jam," which gives way to the more reflective "Can You Stand the Rain," spotlighting George Duke on acoustic piano. Another soulful number is an interpretation of Simply Red's "Holding Back the Years," and Daniel Rodriguez, the singing New York police officer who gained fame after September 11 (and whose debut album Scott produced) comes on for a thoughtful version of "Everything Must Change." This is a well-assembled collection of smooth jazz that will please fans of the genre and of Scott.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/22/2002
Label: Higher Octave
UPC: 0724354237522
catalogNumber: 42375

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tom Scott   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Harmonica,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Carl Anderson   Vocals
Michael Cooper   Vocals
Billy Preston   Hammond Organ
George Duke   Piano
Phil Upchurch   Acoustic Guitar,Soloist
Craig Chaquico   Guitar
Alex Al   Bass
Kurt Clayton   Keyboards
Luis Conte   Percussion,Conga
Craig T. Cooper   Rhythm Guitar,Talk Box
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Nathan East   Bass
Paul Jackson   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Abraham Laboriel   Bass
Ricky Lawson   Cymbals,Drums
Larry McGee   Electric Guitar
Marcus Miller   Bass
Ann Nesby   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jerry Peters   fender rhodes,Fills
Greg Thomas   Tenor Saxophone
Valerie Watson   Vocals,Background Vocals
David Satterfield   Background Vocals
Gerald McCauley   Sampling,fender rhodes
Mikael Sandgren   Synthesizer Strings,Synthesizer Pads
Daniel Rodriguez   Vocals
John Barnes   Strings,Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Electric Piano,Synthesizer Bass

Technical Credits

Jonathan Butler   Contributor
Tom Scott   Arranger,Producer,Engineer,Horn Arrangements
Curtis Dowd   Engineer,Vocal Arrangements
Marcel East   Engineer
Matt Marshall   Executive Producer
David Rideau   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Dan Selene   Executive Producer
Janet Wolsborn   Art Direction
Gerald McCauley   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Contributor
Mikael Sandgren   Arranger,Programming,Engineer
Gina Grimes   Producer,Creative Services Coordinator
Jack Ruben   Engineer
Jesse Gorman   Engineer
Pablo Munguia   Engineer
Jeff Kanan   Engineer
Rachel Stolte   grooming
Juan Pablo Velasco   Engineer
John Barnes   Arranger

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews