Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
New Girl in Little Cove: A Novel

New Girl in Little Cove: A Novel

by Damhnait Monaghan
New Girl in Little Cove: A Novel

New Girl in Little Cove: A Novel

by Damhnait Monaghan

Paperback(Original)

$14.99 $16.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 12%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 18

Overview

"Fans of Richard Russo’s That Old Cape Magic, Emily St. John Mandel’s The Glass Hotel, and Patricia Harman’s The Runaway Midwife will enjoy Rachel’s fish-out-of-water journey to acceptance and understanding.” —Booklist

"If you loved Come From Away, don’t miss this charming debut novel.”—Kate Hilton, bestselling author of Better Luck Next Time

After the local French teacher scandalizes the fishing village of Little Cove, Newfoundland, by running off with a priest, the school looks to the mainland to fill the job quickly. They want someone who can uphold their Catholic values and keep a motley group of largely unwilling students in line.

The position is filled by mainlander Rachel O’Brien—technically a Catholic (baptized!), technically a teacher (honors degree!)—who’s desperate to leave her current mess of a life behind. She isn’t surprised that her students don’t see the value of learning French. But she is surprised that she can barely understand their English… Is it a compliment or insult to be called a sleeveen? (Insult.) And the anonymous notes left on her car, telling her to go home, certainly don’t help to make her feel welcome.

Still, she is quickly drawn into the island’s traditional music and culture, and into the personal lives of her crusty but softhearted landlady, Lucille, her reluctant students and her fellow teacher Doug Bishop. But when her beliefs clash with church and community, she makes a decision that throws her career into jeopardy. In trying to help a student, has she gone too far?

Full of warmth, humor, romance and the quirkiest community of characters… Get ready to be charmed by this impossibly delightful debut, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781525811500
Publisher: Graydon House Books
Publication date: 05/11/2021
Edition description: Original
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 1,047,825
Product dimensions: 7.80(w) x 5.20(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Damhnait (pronounced Downith) Monaghan grew up in Ontario and Newfoundland. A former teacher and lawyer, Damhnait is an award-winning flash fiction writer with numerous publication credits. She lives in the south of England with her husband, two children and the family dog. New Girl in Little Cove is her debut novel, inspired by the years she spent teaching in outport Newfoundland.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items