New Orleans Party Classics

New Orleans Party Classics


$12.70 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.7, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, August 20 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


New Orleans Party Classics

The lazy, rolling piano sounds that open this album are not played by Fats Domino, who never whistled like this. It's Professor Longhair, who blazed trails for Domino and generations of other Crescent City musicians with his definitive version of "Go to the Mardi Gras." The legendary Professor returns later with "Big Chief" and Domino checks in with an affable "Jambalaya." Pianists, especially those with a strong left hand, dominate many songs as New Orleans Party Classics, this generous 18-track CD reissue lets us relive Mardi Gras year round. We might expect "Iko Iko" by Dr. John, "Hey Pocky Way" by the Neville Brothers, "Don't You Just Know It" by Huey "Piano" Smith & the Clowns and even "Sea Cruise" by Frankie Ford. But a reggae-influenced gem like "Meet de Boys on the Battlefront" by a self-described band of N'awlins "Indians" helped by the Neville Brothers and calling themselves the Wild Tchoupitoulas is a delightful surprise. The Dirty Dozen Brass Band and the Rebirth Brass Band cover the Dixieland segment of the broad New Orleans musical spectrum. A Little Richard tune might have made this disc perfect.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/28/1992
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227058722
catalogNumber: 70587
Rank: 108155

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Wild Tchoupitoulas   Track Performer
Dr. John   Track Performer
Neville Brothers   Track Performer
Dirty Dozen Brass Band   Track Performer
Frankie Ford   Track Performer
Rebirth Brass Band   Track Performer
Fats Domino   Track Performer
Alphonso Johnson   Track Performer
Professor Longhair   Track Performer
Huey "Piano" Smith   Track Performer
Allen Toussaint   Track Performer
Alvin "Red" Tyler   Track Performer
Hawketts   Track Performer
Huey "Piano" Smith & the Clowns   Track Performer
Johnson   Track Performer
Oliver Morgan   Track Performer
Stop Inc.   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Earl King   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Jeff Hannusch   Liner Notes
Wardell Quezergue   Composer
Mike Stoller   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Geoff Gans   Art Direction
Monster X   Artwork,Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews