Nick 13

Nick 13

by Nick 13
5.0 3


$10.48 $12.99 Save 19% Current price is $10.48, Original price is $12.99. You Save 19%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, August 29 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Nick 13

Nick 13 has been asked why, given that he is the principal songwriter in Tiger Army, he has felt the need to launch a concurrent solo career. The answer is found in his self-titled solo debut for the tradition-oriented Sugar Hill label. Here, Nick 13 has penned and updated a clutch of songs that allow him to investigate several fallow styles of country. Often, he harks more to the "western" side of the old "country & western" tag, for instance going to Bakersfield for "101," as if trying to come up with something that Buck Owens could have performed. Hank Williams naturally is evoked on "All Alone," while "In the Orchard [2011]" sounds like a classic Roy Orbison ballad. Another reason to go "solo" is to play with musicians other than the same old guys, and Nick 13 takes advantage of that opportunity by bringing in sidemen including Josh Grange, James Intveld, Greg Leisz, and Mike Webb, and turning them loose. Leisz, in particular, provides twangy guitar leads that dominate such tracks as "Carry My Body Down." Nick 13's smooth tenor vocals, singing traditional country sentiments, lead the songs, which transcend their styles to make this a varied, if deliberately retro, country album. It's not the psychobilly of Tiger Army, but it shows the traditional roots from which Nick 13 draws.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/07/2011
Label: Sugarhill
UPC: 0015891406824
catalogNumber: 14068
Rank: 40055

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick 13   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
James Intveld   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Bass,Background Vocals,Standup Bass
Greg Leisz   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Electric Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Mitch Marine   Drums
Mike Webb   Piano,Accordion,Hammond Organ
Sara Watkins   Fiddle
Eddie Perez   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Josh Grange   Banjo,Electric Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Ben Grey   Background Vocals
Storm Rhode   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

James Intveld   Producer
Greg Leisz   Producer
Alain Whyte   Composer
Bruce Witkin   Engineer
Mike Fasano   Drum Technician
Nick 13   Composer
Linas Garsys   Artwork,Cover Art
Kyle Ginther   Engineer
Frank Riley   Booking
Ryan J. Downey   Management
John Silas Cranfield   Engineer
Stacy Fass   Legal Counsel
Tobbe Lorentz   Booking

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nick 13 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this- every track.  There is no one else with this same sound right now.  Slightly nostalgic  but still current.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
doraachvz More than 1 year ago
This is my first country-oriented album and it is such an enjoyable album by Tiger Army's front man, Nick 13 who is an amazing songwriter, I highly recommend this album.