Night of Fire

Night of Fire

by Barbara Samuel

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Night of Fire by Barbara Samuel

From RITA-award winning Barbara Samuel--a full length historical romance novel. Fans of Jo Beverley, Stephanie Laurens, and Eloisa James will love Barbara Samuel's smart, sexy romances.

Lady Cassandra St. Ives had sworn off marriage ever since becoming a happy widow, but lately her affections have been engaged by a mysterious, long distance correspondent. Cassandra has shared her soul with her far-off admirer, and when he invites her to visit his home she accepts the invitation gladly. Expecting a kindly of gentleman, Cassandra is stunned to find that Count Basilio Montevarchi is a virile man in his prime who knows her heart's most intimate desires--and is only too willing to fulfill every one...

The moment Basilio sets eyes on the vibrant beauty he recognizes a soul mate he will never be able to claim as his own. A long-standing betrothal--and the honor of his family--dictate that Basilio must deny himself Cassandra's love. Still they cannot deny the force of their passion until the confines of responsibility finally force them apart. Now Basilio must find a way to keep his heart's desire--before he loses her forever.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940012309839
Publisher: Barbara Samuel
Publication date: 03/19/2011
Series: The St Ives Family Series , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 222,796
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Barbara Samuel (also known as Barbara O’Neal) is the bestselling author of more than 40 books. In 2012, she was inducted into the Romance Writers of America Hall Of Fame, and she has won seven RITA awards. Her books have been published in more than a dozen countries, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Brazil, and Australia/New Zealand. One of her recent women’s fiction titles, The Lost Recipe for Happiness (written as Barbara O’Neal) went back to print eight times, and her book How to Bake a Perfect Life was a Target Club pick in 2011.

Whether set in the turbulent past or the even more challenging present, Barbara’s books feature strong women, families, dogs, food, and adventure—whether on the road or toward the heart.

Now living in her hometown of Colorado Springs, Barbara lives with her partner, Christopher Robin, an endurance athlete, along with her dog and cats. She is an avid gardener, hiker, photographer and traveler who loves to take off at dawn to hike a 14er or head to a faraway land. She loves to connect with readers and is very involved with them on the Internet.

You may read more about Barbara’s books at barbarasamuel.com. She blogs at A Writer Afoot , Reinventing Fabulous, and The Goddess blogs, and features mini blogs on her popular Facebook page. Barbara is very active writing new books and converting her backlist into eBooks. To find the most up to date information, please visit her websites.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Night of Fire 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
omaMS More than 1 year ago
If you like to read Historical Romance Novel's Barbara Samuel will not disappoint you. This is the 3rd book I purchased. The only thing I would have loved so I would not have to purchase the Paperback, that you had the 1st book of this Series "The Black Angel" also available for the Nook. But no harm done, The books was great. Can maybe your buyers watch out, that if they put a Series out for the Nook, that they put the whole Series out not start with the 2nd book.
i-heart-romance More than 1 year ago
this is the first book to have made me cry in a while! well done barbara samuel! great romantic read... cant wait for the stories of the rest of the family!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I find myself reading slowly because I do not wish to lose a thought or image and I want this book to last for as long as I can make it. It is not meant ,for me, to be a book I read quickly but one to be savoured with intent. Thank you for this glorious story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really beautiful love story. Wonderful characters and real romance. I look forward to more about the St. Ives family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book started off slowly and a bit boring. However, it quickly picked up and I feel so deeply in love with the characters that I laughed and cried like an idiot. I totally enjoyed readingabout the St. Ives family again. I hope the author will make a book for each sibling. But until then Basilio, casandra, and analise have stolen my heart completely. Barbara Samuels is a master at her craft.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is only one of a handfull of books that mad me cry, and smile. The emotions really came thru, even though some parts were a bit far ferched but thats what fiction is. I would definately read this again! I love Basilio and Cassandra together, and I especially like the fact thT Cassandra was mot one of these stupid women, that only wants to steal one night of memories to store up the rest of her life, even though she did do the honorable thing. Which I commend but wont give any more details for those who have not read the book. My complaint is that I wish there had been an epilogue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
After exchanging letters for two years on various subjects such as the work of Boccaccio, Basilio Montevarchi invites Cassandra St. Ives to visit him in Italy. Both think the other is much older than they really are and are delightfully surprised by their mistake. They are immediately attracted to one another, but he acts honorably because he is betrothed to Analise diCanio, an engagement arranged by their parents.

However, unable to deny his love for Cassandra, Basilio sends letters to his father and Analise announcing the end of his engagement before finally making love with Cassandra. However, he is forced to stick with his commitment to Analise. Basilio marries her while a sad Cassandra returns to her home in England. Basilio and his wife travel to England where he realizes he still loves Cassandra, but knows they have no future together.

Award winning author Barbara Samuels writes a powerful historical love story that emphasizes romance. The entertaining Georgian romance stars three honorable individuals struggling with commitments and honor. The heart of NIGHT OF FIRE is the romance that leaves the audience wanting more from this multiple RITA winning writer.

Harriet Klausner

harstan More than 1 year ago
After exchanging letters for two years on various subjects such as the work of Boccaccio, Basilio Montevarchi invites Cassandra St. Ives to visit him in Italy. Both think the other is much older than they really are and are delightfully surprised by their mistake. They are immediately attracted to one another, but he acts honorably because he is betrothed to Analise diCanio, an engagement arranged by their parents.

However, unable to deny his love for Cassandra, Basilio sends letters to his father and Analise announcing the end of his engagement before finally making love with Cassandra. However, he is forced to stick with his commitment to Analise. Basilio marries her while a sad Cassandra returns to her home in England. Basilio and his wife travel to England where he realizes he still loves Cassandra, but knows they have no future together.

Award winning author Barbara Samuels writes a powerful historical love story that emphasizes romance. The entertaining Georgian romance stars three honorable individuals struggling with commitments and honor. The heart of NIGHT OF FIRE is the romance that leaves the audience wanting more from this multiple RITA winning writer.

Harriet Klausner