Night of the Grizzly: Poems by Michael Burns

Night of the Grizzly: Poems by Michael Burns


Want it by Monday, November 19 Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780913785386
Publisher: Moon City Press
Publication date: 07/01/2012
Pages: 78
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.20(d)

About the Author

Michael Burns helped found the Creative Writing Program at Missouri State University, where he taught for twenty-five years. A graduate of the University of Arkansas Creative Writing Program, he published two chapbooks, When All Else Failed and And As for Darkness, and two books of poetry, The Secret Names and It Will Be All Right in the Morning. He also edited two books of critical essays. Born June 3, 1953 in Egypt, Arkansas, Burns retired to Louisville, Kentucky, where he passed away on October 27, 2011.

Table of Contents

Michael Burns and Night of the Grizzly: An Introduction xi

1 The Broken Narratives 3

2 Night of the Grizzly 11

If You Asked Me about Our Friend Nancy 14

Spreading the Ashes 16

Late August 17

3 Kitchen Duty 21

Fleshing the Shadow 22

Snake 24

Night Shift 25

If She Would Only Answer the Phone 26

What Comes of It 27

Discharge 28

4 Early Morning Lament for the Pancake 31

Pedro, the Lion 33

His Vigilance 34

Kick Ass with My Fat Foot 35

Another Sunday after Church 36

After October Rain 37

What the Marigolds Said 38

Observations 39

5 Weekend Home 43

On My Mother's Birthday 44

After the Tornado Destroyed the Homeplace 45

She's Got Teeth but She Don't Need Them 46

I Started to Say 47

A Tall Tale for My Son 49

Concerning Your Question 50

Sweet Potatoes 51

6 The Back of Christ 55

On a Photograph of Freud's Actual Office Couch 56

When She Was Here 57

Apostrophe 58

Oak Grove Church of Christ, 1968 59

Hayloft 60

Testify 61

We Have These Cancellations 63

Afterword 65

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews