Nightmarriage

Nightmarriage

by Chad Thomas Johnston

Paperback

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Chad Thomas Johnston's Nightmarriage is a whimsical memoir that explores the terrors of marriage and the perils of parenthood. Adapted from Johnston's blog series of the same name, Nightmarriage proves that, when two people marry, their flaws tie the knot, too. In essays such as "My Wife, the Black Hole," "Hearts and Jumper Cables," "Knives and Wives," "Honeymoonwalking (to Jail)," and "Blessed Are the Tentmakers," Johnston weaves stories on his literary loom that are equal parts luminous and lunatic.




Writing as only a minister's son with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder can, Johnston has crafted an observational ode to both the blunders and wonders of wedlock, and his writing is punctuated accordingly with absurd alliteration, appalling puns, and madcap metaphors. Nightmarriage is a must-read for fans of David Sedaris, Robert Fulghum, and Anne Lamott.



While Johnston created the cover art himself, the interior of the book features original work by artists BARRR, Dan Billen, Ben Chlapek, Megan Frauenhoffer, Danny Joe Gibson, Mark Montgomery, and Darin M. White. The appendices of the book also include Twitter stream excerpts, recipes, artist information, and other miscellany from the world of Chad Thomas Johnston.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780615825557
Publisher: eLectio Publishing
Publication date: 05/25/2013
Pages: 216
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.49(d)

About the Author

Praise for Nightmarriage:


Nightmarriage is a finalist for a 2013 Shirley You Jest! Book Award in the non-fiction category.


***** (out of 5) "No one writing today can sling language around like Chad Thomas Johnston. Like the knives on the book's cover, his words slice through common places, coming out clean and sharp. And always pointed: the brilliant wordplay serves the purpose of dazzling insight."-Peggy Rosenthal, author of Knit
One, Purl a Prayer: A Spirituality of Knitting
and co-author of Reclaiming
Beauty for the Good of the World: Muslim & Christian Creativity as Moral
Power


"The manner in which Johnston relates (his story) is winning: with a mischievous heart, as well as with a high regard for how the world-altering-such as the pending arrival of a child-sometimes can be discerned in the small, domestic detail."-Brian Burnes, The Kansas City Star


"Johnston revels in wordplay throughout the book, using alliteration, assonance, and a pinch of puns to leaven the often serious issues of marriage and parenthood with his charming lunacy. He skewers his wife and he skewers himself again and again, and the repeated banana-peel-slips become a kind of healing mantra."-Tyler
McCabe, IMAGE Update, biweekly newsletter of IMAGE Journal


"'Nightmarriage,' 'Abra-Chad-Abra,' 'Honeymoonwalking'
. . . If I had a dime for every winning pun on the trials and triumphs of early marriage and parenthood that Chad Thomas Johnston has to offer in his debut, I
still might only come out with a dollar (now that I consider the actual math). But what a dollar it would be-rarer than a silver one, and in its own right a golden one. With it, I can go a long way toward paying off the renovations of the heart, 'a home under construction,' as Johnston describes it with his other recurring literary device-or rather, the lack of one: honest-to-goodness thanks for the persistence of grace."-Bradford Winters, writer for HBO's Oz, Starz's Boss, and FX's The Americans

Customer Reviews