Nina Is Not OK

Nina Is Not OK

by Shappi Khorsandi

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Nina Is Not OK by Shappi Khorsandi

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn’t?

Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all.

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her…

A dark, funny - sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781785031373
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/01/2017
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 728,872
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.60(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

SHAPPKI KHORSANDI was born in 1973 in Tehran and moved to London with her family in 1976 who were exiled after the revolution of 1979. She studied drama at university and has now been a stand-up for over ten years. She has performed all over the world including her annual sell-out run at the Edinburgh festival. She has appeared on countless radio and television programmes including Just a Minute, The News Quiz, The Now Show, Mock the Week, Live at the Apollo, Question Time and Newsnight Review. She lives in West London with her husband and son.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nina Is Not OK 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Nina likes to drink and does this a lot, but she doesn't think she has a problem. However, the gaps in her memory, embarrassing moments she doesn't have any control over and rash decisions she normally wouldn't have taken are proving she doesn't have her alcohol intake under control. When one night something devastating happens Nina feels dirty and ashamed. She doesn't remember the exact details of that night, but she knows something is terribly wrong. To make these feelings stop she drinks even more and this is the beginning of a downward spiral Nina can't easily get out of. Nina's mother is busy with her job, her new husband and Nina's little sister Katie. Nina's problems are an inconvenience. When Nina needs her mother more than ever she's even more out of reach than she used to be. Nina is completely on her own and has to battle her demons by herself. She finds comfort in alcohol and drinks even more. What will happen to Nina now that her life is completely unhinged and everything she does feels totally wrong? Nina is Not OK is an impressive story. Nina drinks a lot and she doesn't know when or how to stop. This makes her lose her boundaries and she gets into all kinds of situations she doesn't want to be in, but she can't help herself. She has a lot of problems and not many people are helping her. They don't see how much she's struggling and don't understand her behavior, which clearly comes from pain. This often made me tear up. Nina is unbalanced in many different ways and this made me feel really sad for her. She's such a bright and sweet girl and I kept hoping she could find her way through the darkness and get out of the nasty downward spiral she's in. Shappi Khorsandi has written a fantastic emotional story. I was greatly impressed by the writing style and the vivid descriptions. She doesn't leave out any details. Nina is Not OK is a shocking book with many raw scenes. I love that it's an honest story about a young girl with alcohol problems. This is an important topic that should definitely be read and written about. Nina's story is thought-provoking and distressing. Nina is Not OK is a compelling poignant read filled with emotional layers, harsh reality and eventful twists and turns. I was blown away by this perplexing story.