Nine Lessons (Josephine Tey Series #7)

Nine Lessons (Josephine Tey Series #7)

by Nicola Upson

Hardcover

$25.02 $26.99 Save 7% Current price is $25.02, Original price is $26.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Overview

Josephine Tey, a sharp-witted amateur sleuth based on the celebrated Golden Age mystery writer, returns in the seventh in Nicola Upson's critically acclaimed series, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781683313212
Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Publication date: 10/10/2017
Series: Josephine Tey Series , #7
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 879,221
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Nicola Upson was born in Suffolk and read English at Downing College, Cambridge. She has worked in theatre and as a freelance journalist, and is the author of two non-fiction works and the recipient of an Escalator Award from the Arts Council England. Her debut novel, An Expert in Murder, was the first in a series of crime novels to feature Josephine Tey—one of the leading authors of Britain's age of crime-writing. Her research for the books has included many conversations with people who lived through the period and who knew Josephine Tey well, most notably Sir John Gielgud. The book was dramatised by BBC Scotland for Woman's Hour, and praised by PD James as marking 'the arrival of a new and assured talent'. Nicola lives with her partner in Cambridge and Cornwall. This is her seventh Josephine Tey mystery.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nine Lessons (Josephine Tey Series #7) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Mystery write becomes fictional detective in this classic crime style series. I wonder how the extremely private Josephine Tey would have reacted to finding herself as a central character in a murder mystery series. I do enjoy a good story which posits a real person into a fictional setting - even more so when there are certain elements in their own lives that can afford the author such artistic licence; and when done well, the fictional account often blurs the lines between what is fiction and what just might be real. As Robert McCrum of the Guardian wrote: "Shy Miss Mackintosh [Tey's real name] had a fascination with disguises, pseudonyms and hidden identities." - I think Tey would have been slightly amused, if not a little intrigued. Coming late to the table at #7 of these Josephine Tey mysteries has left me wanting to go back to the very beginning and read them all in order. Well worth seeking out Tey's own books to compliment this collection. ~~~ Melisende
Tangen More than 1 year ago
procedural, law-enforcement, relationships, serial-killer, serial-rapist, historical-fiction ---------- There are two simultaneous horrors to be investigated by DCI Penrose and his sometime assistant playwright Josephine Tey. One is a complicated series of murders which appear to be inspired by revenge. The other is a series of home invasions which include rape and the use of a knife. Set in the 1930's, it exposes attitudes that are not much better today. But the plotting and character development is excellent, and it maintains the suspense til the end. I had originally requested and received a review copy via NetGalley, but was unable to sight read it. Recently, I bought an audio copy and feel that Wanda McCadden gave an excellent audio performance as narrator.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another well-constructed mystery , two in one .
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
I had a little trouble getting into this book. But, I think that is because of the fact that this is number seven in the series and my first book to read. I really liked the characters in this book. From the way it read, I thought the book was about Archie Penrose being the main character, not Josephine. Although she was in the book quite a bit. I really liked Josephine Tey and her attitude. I laughed several times at her. I also really liked how the author wrote the mystery revolving around a teacher's books that taught at Cambridge. While in the acknowledgement the author wrote that this teacher was a real person, I had already felt that during the book. A very twisted tale with a whole lot of twists. A jaw dropping solution to the question of who was raping the girls of Cambridge was really well written. In fact, just a really good read that kept me mesmerized. I hope to read a lot more about Josephine Tey in the future. Thanks to Crooked Lane Books and Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.
Missisue4 More than 1 year ago
Nine Lessons by Nicola Upson has some storylines that are a first for me and I have been reading for a long, long time. There is something to be said about finding a book that can provide a reader with that. Nine Lessons sends the reader back to 1937 and starts in a cemetery in London and an old grave where a recent murder has taken place. Unfortunately for Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose this is just the beginning of a very interesting and intrigueing case that will take him down some dark paths leading him to more death and more questions than answers. There are clues left with the body that do not make any sense until more bodies and clues begin to occur. These bodies and clues take Penrose to a college and a choir twenty-five years ago but the remaining survivors from that choir are not talking. Also going on in Nine Lessons are a series of attacks and rapes on women where Penrose's dear friend Josephine finds herself investigating in a quiet manner. And I might add here that Josephine is in a relationship with a woman, Marta, during a time where it was very unacceptable. The way in which Upson writes about this relationship and the manner in which others view it is remarkable. There is so much more that I can say about the stories and the people involved in this book but by doing so I would be giving too much away to you the reader and I feel that this is a book that belongs on your nightstand or endtable with your personal bookmark sticking out..... I really enjoyed reading Nine Lessons, I am only sorry that this is the first book in this series that I have had the pleasure of reading. I am certain that the previous books were just as entertaining as this one. Upon finishing Nine Lessons I am thoroughly looking forward to the next installment in this series. The way that Upson concluded Nine Lessons made me anxious for more .......