No. 3

No. 3

by Christina Vantzou


$16.55 $17.99 Save 8% Current price is $16.55, Original price is $17.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


No. 3

Brussels-based multimedia artist Christina Vantzou's third album expands upon the symphonic sound of her first two, continuing to mix orchestral instruments and choir vocals with electronics in order to create shifting soundscapes that mystify and enchant. At 71 minutes in length, No. 3 is easily her longest and most ambitious album to date, as well as her most structured, as it revolves around a series of pieces called "pillars," intended to be more direct than the ethereal drones that make up the rest of her work. Electronic instruments play a much wider role here than on her first two albums, including several modular synthesizers, and the album's second track is named after computer music pioneer Laurie Spiegel, whose warm, unpretentious compositions are a natural precedent to Vantzou's work. Pieces such as "CV" have greater emotional depth than her prior recordings, employing strings and woodwinds that explore different dynamics. Vantzou's labelmate Loscil guests on "Stereoscope," adding a glowing bass pulse to a distant, decaying drone. The album feels dark, ominous, and chilling, conjuring up images of deepest space, yet there's an unmistakably human touch to it, emphasized by gentle pizzicato strings, sparse piano notes, and serene vocals. No. 3 is a breathtaking album, seamlessly mixing electronic and acoustic elements in order to create music that feels as earthly as it does cosmic.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/23/2015
Label: Kranky
UPC: 0796441819928
catalogNumber: 199
Rank: 97682

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Christina Vantzou   Primary Artist
Minna Choi   Performing Ensemble
Mike Delaere   Upright Bass
Harm Garreyn   Cello
Simon Decraene   Percussion
Louise Kuyvenhoven   Sax (Mezzo-Soprano)
Fabienne Vergalle   Bassoon
Hannes Verstraete   Horn
Jesus Moreno Miras   Trombone
Pieter De Rydt   Viola
Lisa McCowage   Bass Clarinet
John Also Bennett   Synthesizer
Pieter De Praetere   Contratenor
Eva Debruyne   Oboe
David Anne   Conductor
Toshiyuki Shibata   Flute
Freek Ruysschaert   Violin
Robin Van Heghe   Violin

Technical Credits

Minna Choi   Choir Arrangement
Chris Lambrechts   Engineer
Christina Vantzou   Composer
Diederik Glorieux   Recording Assistant
David Anne   Arranger

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews