No Division

No Division

by Hot Water Music


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


No Division

The fourth full-length from this post-rock/hardcore/punk rock quartet is really just more of the same, but the same really isn't so bad. Those who love the band will certainly find it appealing, but those who were drawn in by earlier efforts will probably notice that the styles start to get a bit tired and that this record is at times a rehash of previous outings. With chugging guitars, plenty of energy, throaty screamed vocals, and no overwhelming hooks, the opening "Southeast First" is a pretty clear indication of what is to come. Amidst the usual crunchy noise, there are some interesting new guitar sounds the group experiments with on this record, and there are also some interesting new song structures given a preliminary run-through. From straight punk rock efforts to much more restrained and laid-back numbers, Hot Water Music made this record with no pretenses, and while it doesn't succeed in all aspects, they certainly couldn't be bothered. Triumphantly declaring their feelings on the endearing "Our Own Way," the band explains, "Who gives a f*ck what anybody says/We'll live and love until we're dead/Holding on to what we've come to know." HWM exist in a unique niche, and those who have grown to love it will certainly accept this album into loving arms. It isn't as strong as the records that preceded it, but, at the end of the day, anything this band has to offer is still a lot more honest and explosive than what most of their peers have.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/01/1999
Label: Some Records
UPC: 0639111101124
catalogNumber: 11

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hot Water Music   Primary Artist
Eric Larson   Percussion
Scott Sinclair   Vocals
Ed Trask   Percussion
Walter Schreifels   Vocals
Tim Barry   Vocals
Paige Foley   Vocals
Robbie Huddleson   Vocals
Samantha Ragan   Vocals
Samantha Jones   Vocals
Erik Larson   Percussion

Technical Credits

Ronny Cates   Engineer
Scott Sinclair   Artwork
John Yates   Construction
Hot Water Music   Composer
Mark Miley   Engineer
Chuck Ragan   Contributor
Walter Schreifels   Producer
Chris Wollard   Contributor
George Rebelo   Contributor
Jason Black   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews