Noël! Noël!! Noël!!!

Noël! Noël!! Noël!!!


$12.68 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.68, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, October 20 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Noël! Noël!! Noël!!!

Released to coincide with his 80th birthday, legendary Oscar-winning French composer Michel Legrand's first Christmas album, Noel! Noel! Noel! features a lineup which only highlights the generation-spanning and globe-trotting influence his orchestral arrangements have had since the 1950s. From promising Nigerian-German soul singer Ayo ("Santa Claus Is Coming to Town") to garage rock pioneer Iggy Pop ("Little Drummer Boy"), its 12 festive tracks bring together an eclectic range of artists, all of whom appear surprisingly comfortable with the sweeping big-band productions. Irish rockabilly revivalist Imelda May transfers her vintage '50s-inspired tones to the gorgeously melancholic, woodwind-led rendition of "Silent Night," Teddy Thompson and Rufus Wainwright channel their inner old-school crooners on a theatrical version of "White Christmas," while Mika continues to pursue his recent French ambitions on the suitably wintry "Vive le Vent." But it's the stars from Legrand's homeland who steal the show, whether it's folk-punk chanteuse Olivia Ruiz' best Edith Piaf impression on the understated "Le Noel de la Rue," First Lady Carla Bruni's seductive presence on a cocktail bar-style interpretation of "Jolis Sapins," or Emilie Simon's enchanting, cutesy vocals on the gentle jazz of "Santa Baby." The heart-warming mass singalong of "Noel D'espoir" suggests Legrand should have had the confidence to include a few more original compositions, but while Noel! Noel! Noel! provides little you haven't heard before, its abundance of old-fashioned charm ensures it's one of the classiest and most timeless yuletide albums of the year.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/06/2011
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602527875675
catalogNumber: 001635502
Rank: 118378

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michel Legrand   Conductor
Ted Nash   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Ted Rosenthal   Piano
Nicki Richards   Choir, Chorus
Darryl Tookes   Choir, Chorus
Vaneese Thomas   Choir, Chorus
Lisa Fischer   Choir, Chorus
Everett Bradley   Choir, Chorus
Hollis "Bud" Burridge   Trumpet
Barry Carl   Choir, Chorus
Margaret Dorn   Choir, Chorus
Lawrence Feldman   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Aaron Heick   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Ron Jannelli   Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone
Tony Kadleck   Trumpet
Lauren Kinhan   Choir, Chorus
Yurika Mok   Violin
Keith O'Quinn   Trombone
Kevin Osborne   Choir, Chorus
Marcus Rojas   Tuba
Stewart Rose   French Horn
Scott Wendholt   Trumpet
Jim Baker   Percussion
Tom Sefcovic   Bassoon
Paul Woodiel   Violin
Antoine Silverman   Violin,Concert Master
Martin Wind   Double Bass
Dave Mann   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Dave Philips   Double Bass
Javier Diaz   Percussion
Theresa MacDonnell   French Horn
Hector Falcon   Violin
Robin Zeh   Violin
Tim Albright   Trombone
Catherine Michel   Harp
Hiroko Taguchi   Viola
Shelagh Abate   French Horn
Jonathan Dinklage   Viola
Anja Wood   Cello
Maxim Moston   Violin
David Heiss   Cello
Claire Bryant   Cello
Gregg August   Double Bass
David Creswell   Viola
Sean Carney   Violin
Entcho Todorov   Violin
Susan Perelman   Violin
David Byrd-Marrow   French Horn
Don Downs   Trumpet
Jeff Nelson   Trombone
Sylvia D'Avanzo   Violin
Tanya Hall   Choir, Chorus
Chris Cardona   Viola
Monica Davis   Violin
Matt Lehmann   Violin
Gregory Clark   Choir, Chorus
Sarah Pratt   Violin
Ann Lehmann   Violin
Joe Felder   Trombone
Jeff Irving   Timpani
Dennis Coluns   Choir, Chorus
Dave Ratajzcak   Drums
Alexendra Knoll   English Horn,Oboe

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Michel Legrand   Arranger,Composer
Harry Simeone   Composer
Franz Gruber   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Katherine Davis   Composer
Haven Gillespie   Composer
Hugh Martin   Composer
Henry Onorati   Composer
Jule Styne   Composer
Philip Springer   Composer
Michel Fugain   Composer
Ralph Blane   Composer
Claude Lemesle   Composer
Lawrence Manchester   Engineer,Vocal Recording
Tony Springer   Composer
Jean Dréjac   Composer
Antoine Carlier   Artwork
Alfred Figueroa   Vocal Recording
Marie-Jose Sarazin   Executive Producer
Sylvain Taillet   Producer,Executive Producer
Bénédicte Schmitt   Vocal Editing
Francis Blanche   Composer
Doriand   Vocal Coach
Adam Samuels   Vocal Recording
Graham Dominy   Vocal Recording
John Freeman Young   Composer
J. Javits   Composer
Dan Perry   Vocal Recording
Nabil Essemlani   Vocal Recording
Rolf Marbot   Composer
Jeff Hill   Vocal Recording
Morgan Manzi   Vocal Recording
Reverend Pére Barjon   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews