No More Shall We Part [Bonus DVD] [Remastered] [Collector's Edition]

No More Shall We Part [Bonus DVD] [Remastered] [Collector's Edition]

by Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


No More Shall We Part [Bonus DVD] [Remastered] [Collector's Edition]

No More Shall We Part ended a four-year recorded silence from Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds. No new material had appeared since 1997's landmark, The Boatman's Call. With that record Cave had finally delivered an entire album of deeply tragic and beautiful love songs without irony, sarcasm, or violence. Also, The Boatman's Call altered the manner in which Cave wrote songs (for a time anyway), and the Bad Seeds illustrated them. Here, two musical directors -- the ubiquitous Mick Harvey and newcomer Warren Ellis (of Dirty Three) -- craft a sonic atmosphere whose textures deepen and widen Cave's lyrics. On No More Shall We Part, as on its predecessor, Cave underwent a startling metamorphosis. Gone is the angry, humorous cynic whose venom and bile touched even his lighter moments -- save for one track, "God Is in the House." Over the rest of these 12 tracks, Cave has taken the broken heart -- so lovingly and searingly illustrated on The Boatman's Call -- and speaks from it. There is powerful emotion here -- spiritual, psychological, and romantic -- without a hint of sentimentality. The chaos of earlier Bad Seeds outings does kick up on "The Sorrowful Wife," where violins and Blixa Bargeld's guitars duel with Jim Sclavunos' drums for domination. The record closes with two of Cave's most beautiful songs, "Gates to the Garden," a lovely paean to redemptive love sung as country gospel waltz and sweetened by the McGarrigle sisters, and "Darker with the Day," illustrated by Harvey's striking expressionist pianistic technique, highlighting the extremes of good and evil that inform and torment the protagonist's inner emotional life, all within a single day. There is loss, the seeking of deliverance, and -- in a statement that recognizes simple fate -- the acknowledgment of hope: "All these streets are frozen now/I come and go/Full of a longing for something I do not know." As both a singer and a songwriter, Cave's work is so full of depth, color, and dimension on No More Shall We Part that he hasn't a peer in popular music. [The 2011 remastered edition contains a bonus DVD. It features both 5.1 and stereo mixes of the album, three non-album bonus tracks, different takes of four album cuts, the 11th part of Do You Love Me Like I Love You, the documentary film by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard, and three videos, making an already exceptional album even more so. This is well worth the investment for fans.]

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2011
Label: Imports
UPC: 5099909573420
catalogNumber: 95734


Disc 1

  1. As I Sat Sadly By Her Side
  2. And No More Shall We Part
  3. Hallelujah
  4. Love Letter
  5. Fifteen Feet of Pure White Snow
  6. God is In the House
  7. Oh My Lord
  8. Sweetheart Come
  9. The Sorrowful Wife
  10. We Came Along This Road
  11. Gates To the Garden
  12. Darker With the Day

Disc 2

  1. No More Shall We Part
  2. No More Shall We Part
  3. Good Good Day
  4. Little Janey's Gone
  5. Grief Came Riding
  6. Bless His Ever Loving Heart
  7. Fifteen Feet of Pure White Snow
  8. We Came Along This Road
  9. God is In the House
  10. And No More Shall We Part
  11. Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 11: No More Shall We Part)
  12. As I Sat Sadly By Her Side
  13. Love Letter
  14. Fifteen Feet of Pure White Snow

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Nick Cave   Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Blixa Bargeld   Guitar
Warren Ellis   Violin
Mick Harvey   Guitar,Drums
Anna McGarrigle   Background Vocals
Conway Savage   Organ
Gavyn Wright   Violin,Leader
Thomas Wydler   Drums
Paul Morgan   Bass
Kate McGarrigle   Background Vocals
Lionel Handy   Cello
Patrick Kiernan   Violin
Frank Schaefer   Cello
Jackie Shave   Violin
Bruce White   Viola
Rebecca Hirsch   Violin
Simon Fischer   Violin
Naomi Wright   Cello
Gustav Clarkson   Viola
Leon Enrique Bosch   Bass
Martyn P. Casey   Bass
James Sclavunos   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

Nick Cave   Producer
Warren Ellis   String Arrangements
Mick Harvey   Executive Producer,String Arrangements
Tony Cohen   Producer,Engineer
Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds   Producer
Kevin Paul   Engineer
Shaun Connon   Executive Producer
Rachel Willis   Executive Producer
Amy Hanson   Liner Notes,Sleeve Notes
David Rowntree   Executive Producer
Tony Clark   Cover Painting

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews