No Parlez [Bonus Track]

No Parlez [Bonus Track]

by Paul YoungPaul Young


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 25


One of the most assured debut albums of the mid-'80s, and one of the finest pop-soul confections of all time, No Parlez was the record that, following from the stellar success of Paul Young's earliest hits, left him poised to dominate the remainder of the decade like no other vocalist could have. Three singles laid bare all that Young was so eminently capable of. "Wherever I Lay My Hat," a beautifully impassioned take on what was, in all fairness, never one of Marvin Gaye's greatest performances, left mouths hanging open in awe; a meaty revision of Nicky Thomas' "Love of the Common People" proved that the earlier performance was no fluke; and "Come Back and Stay" indicated that the boy wasn't only a great singer, he had access to some great originals as well. Add the idiosyncratic yowling of the so-evocatively-named Fabulous Wealthy Tarts backing singers, jabbing a wealth of seemingly meaningless refrains, yelps and cackles into the gaps around Young's own vocal and, before it was even on the racks, it was clear that No Parlez was going to be an invigorating ride. And still it was capable of shocks. The title track was borrowed from former Slapp Happy art rocker Anthony Moore's "Industrial Drums" (from his Only Choice album) -- scarcely the kind of role model that Young's apparent drive for pop superstardom normally looked towards, while Moore's erstwhile bandmate Dagmar Krause surfaced elsewhere, to layer mystifyingly Euro-flavored vocals over a deeply soulful version of "Love Will Tear Us Apart." Yes, that "Love Will Tear Us Apart," a song still so draped in the martyrdom of Ian Curtis that to even think of revising it was regarded as sacrilege in some quarters. Young did more than that, though, he reinvented it. As a whole, the album does not live up to its greatest moments -- once past that so-superlative "Love of the Common People," side two lags badly as it heads towards the nadir of the closing "Sex." Breathtakingly original in small doses, Laurie Latham's production (and the Wealthy Tarts' keening) both lose their appeal after a while. One cannot help, too, but wish that the regular single mixes of the hits had been replaced by the superlative 12" mixes that accompanied their original release -- "Come Back and Stay," in particular, is up there with any Soft Cell or Frankie extension in the annals of classic 12"s. But though it's not flawless, still No Parlez is fearless and, looking back over Young's entire career (so far), one can only wonder how it all went so wrong? He could have ruled the decade like no other Brit of his age. Instead, the back cover photo simply makes him look like the younger brother of one of the guys who beat him to it. And you can bet Robert Smith wasn't expecting that!

Product Details

Release Date: 01/04/1984
Label: Columbia Europe
UPC: 5099746090920
catalogNumber: 4609092
Rank: 64002


  1. Come Back and Stay
  2. Love Will Tear Us Apart
  3. Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)
  4. Ku Ku Kurama
  5. No Parlez
  6. Behind Your Smile
  7. Love of the Common People
  8. Oh Women
  9. Iron Out the Rough Spots
  10. Broken Man
  11. Tender Trap
  12. Sex

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Young   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Steve Bolton   Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Nimsa Calliza   Vocals
Dagmar   Vocals
Chief Dawethi   Vocals
Joy Division   Track Performer
Eyethu   Vocals,Background Vocals
Matt Irving   Bass,Guitar,Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,ARP
Ian Kewley   Organ,Synthesizer,Percussion,Keyboards,Vocals
E.T. Latham   Percussion
Ntobi Lekan   Bass,Vocals
Zundi Lekau   Vocals
Kim Lesley   Vocals
Wally Loak   Vocals
Jabu Mbato   Vocals
Fats Mogoboya   Vocals
Pino Palladino   Bass,Bass Guitar,Stick
Mark Pinder   Synthesizer,Percussion,Drums
Maz Roberts   Vocals
Norman Zulu   Vocals
Rico Rodriguez   Trombone
Steve Bolton   Guitar
Dagmar   Vocals

Technical Credits

Steve Cropper   Composer
Marvin Gaye   Composer
Paul Young   Composer,Adaptation
Barrett Strong   Composer
Steve Bolton   Composer
Ian Curtis   Composer
Joy Division   Composer
Peter Hook   Composer
John Hurley   Composer
Booker T. Jones   Composer
Ian Kewley   Arranger,Composer
Laurie Latham   Arranger,Producer
Anthony More   Composer
David Porter   Composer
Barry Watts   Sleeve Photo
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Ronnie Wilkins   Composer
Stephen Morris   Composer
Jimme O'Neill   Composer,Adaptation
Bernard Sumner   Composer
Ged Doherty   Management
Paul M. Young   Adaptation
Denaun Porter   Composer
Jack Lee   Composer
Steve Bolton   Composer
Laurie   Arranger

Customer Reviews