No Safe Place

No Safe Place

by Sherri Shackelford

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Original Large Print)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 24

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781335678744
Publisher: Harlequin
Publication date: 12/31/2018
Edition description: Original Large Print
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 373,923
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.50(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author



A former naval reservist with a top-secret security clearance, Sherri Shackelford writes rapid-fire suspense featuring captivating characters and heart-pounding romance. She's authored more than a dozen novels, including both contemporary suspense and historical romance. Visit her at sherrishackelford.com or sherri@sherrishackelford.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

No Safe Place 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
LoraineN 3 days ago
This is the debut novel in a different genre for this author. Excellent job. I loved the page turning suspense and the push-pull of the romance. Beth Greenwood was just doing her job but it put her in danger and to top it off, Corbin, the attractive co-worker, suspects her of criminal dealings. I liked that Beth was smart and determined to do the right thing. Poor Corbin. He was attracted to Beth even though he believed she was a criminal. He too, was determined to do the right thing and it put the two at cross purposes much of the time. They spend most of the story on the run which kept me turning the pages. Would they get to safety? Who was after them? I received this book complimentary as a participant of the Prism Book Tour. I was not required to give a positive review. All of the opinions I have expressed here are my own.
TrixiO 4 days ago
It's always an interesting thing to me when an author goes from one genre to another. Sherri Shackelford wrote for Love Inspired Historical, but since that line has closed, she is writing suspense. I think she hit it out of the park with this “debut” novel! Definitely had all the elements I love; plenty of action, thrill-laced adventure, and characters running for their lives. Beth knows her life is in constant danger being a forensic accountant. Uncovering money schemes can be a deadly trade! Taught solid values and morals by her late police officer dad, she feels it's her calling in life. However after her mentor is killed, she must obtain proof the company she works for is crooked and that she must once again run & hide. Homeland security agent Corbin befriends her and tries to prove she's involved in embezzlement. When her life is threatened, he must act as protector and keep her alive to either prove her innocence or bring her to justice. It seems no matter where they try to go, the killers are one step ahead of them! Can they outrun and outmaneuver them in time? Action-packed with just the right amount of tension kept me turning pages to find out what happens next! Shakelford kept me guessing how in the world the killers knew where Beth & Corbin were, was it an inside job or something more? This story moved along nicely for me! I had two very late nights staying up to read “just one more chapter”, which turned out to be several. If you love romantic suspense with plenty of elements to keep you reading, this one will do it for you! *I received a complimentary copy from the author and was under no obligation to leave a favorable review. *
TheBeccaFiles 4 days ago
*4.5 stars Fast paced with plenty of action, No Safe Place was a rather quick read for me. I finished the whole book in just two sittings and in less than a day. It quickly grasped my attention and held me until the end. Something I wasn’t expecting about the story was that it really wasn’t about figuring out the details of the money-laundering scheme. It was about Corbin and Beth’s time on the run trying to escape a group of dangerous men while waiting for information to be received by the FBI. It was more about the chase than the actual crime. I thought it was rather interesting how the author wove it all together. My only complaint with this book has nothing to do with the story itself, but the formatting of the print. The margins down the center were too small and it made the book uncomfortable to try to hold open after a while. It was difficult to read the words closest to the binding. (I attached an image so you can see what I mean). Normally I would be someone to strongly proclaim my love for print books over e-books, but this one I can honestly say I’d rather have dealt with the e-book. I really enjoyed this story and thought it was an intriguing, fast-paced read. I’d easily recommend it to fans of suspense. I don’t believe I’ve read any other books by the author before, but I would certainly be interested in reading more from her in the future. *I received a copy of this book through Prism Book Tours. Thoughts and opinions expressed are mine alone.
Phyllis_H 5 days ago
My rating is 4.5 stars Corbin didn’t even realize he resembled Clark Kent, with his ice-blue eyes, dark hair, and glasses. It was enough that the women in the office nicknamed him Clark and even accidentally called him that. He thought they just forgot his name. Sprinkling just enough wit throughout the story to keep it from being overly suspenseful, author Sherri Shackelford has Corbin and Beth fleeing from one place to another in an attempt to elude their pursuers. She provided just enough clues to keep things interesting without blatantly giving away who was behind the money laundering and how the goons kept finding them as they ran. I really liked the way that the author wove her faith throughout the pages of the story. Both Corbin and Beth were Christians and yet both struggled with their faith. The suspense was at that perfect level for me, and the violence was not emphasized so the story was not gory. I will say that I made a mistake going to bed before I finished the book, though, because it did end up affecting my dreams last night. Oops! Readers who enjoy authors such as Dana Mentink and Tanya Stowe are bound to enjoy this one as well. I just signed up for her mailing list. I want to be sure to read more books by this author! Read with a Preview and Author Interview at AmongTheReads.net I was given a copy of this book for free. I was not required to give a favorable review nor was any money received for this review. All comments and opinions are my own.
amybooksy 16 days ago
No Safe Place is my first introduction to Sherri Shackelford’s work. Beth Greenwood is a forensic accountant and discovers illegal activities at the company she works for. She realizes her life is in danger and goes on the run. She goes to Corbin Ross, a homeland security agent, for help. As he investigates the events, it seems as though Beth may, also, be involved in illegal activities. How will this affect Beth? Can Corbin be able to clear her name? I enjoyed No Safe Place. When I read the author’s note at the end, I was surprised to find out this was Miss Shackelford‘s first attempt at writing suspense. I would have thought this was her genre she normally writes in. Beth and Corbin’s story was one that kept me on the edge of my seat. I never knew where they would end up. I could not put the book down until the end. I give No Safe Place five stars. Miss Shackleford has earned herself a new reader. I received this book from the publisher. This review is 100% my own honest opinion.
Amigagal 17 days ago
My husband is an accountant so I was anxious to read this book about an accountant! However, he isn't a forensic accountant so he doesn't do anything like Beth in this story but I very much enjoyed Beth's character! As stated by others, the author has been writing historical romance but this is her first romantic suspense and it's fantastic! There is so much action and attention to detail that I felt I was right in the story alongside Beth and Corbin as things were happening! I kept wanting to yell, "watch out" when bad things were coming their way!!! I really enjoyed Corbin character also because he wanted to believe Beth was innocent so badly but because he worked for the government and had some evidence that showed she possibly could have been working with the money launderers, he had to be careful! I was so glad he kept an open mind, especially as he got to know her! Beth was leery too! I enjoyed the whole story and look forward to more romantic suspense from this author. I know they will just as entertaining!
BooksAndSpoons 18 days ago
No Safe Place has a fantastic blend of clean romance and intense suspense, with the strong elements of mystery balancing the fragile feelings developing between forensic accountant Beth Greenwood and homeland security agent Corbin Ross. I love the Love Inspired Historical romances Sherri Shackelford has written and got immensely excited when I saw that she has written romantic suspense as well. Her characters always have such depth, they are well developed, they are people you want to spend time with and cheer for. Beth and Corbin both fit that description, as well - I simply adored them! I loved how smart they both were, their strong faith, raw honesty, and willingness to be vulnerable with each other. There were dote frailness and tenderness between them, and the relationship developing in between them because of the lines they could not cross due to Corbin's job and Beth's questionable actions in the beginning. But those feels were real, they were believable, and the ache they had for the chance to get to know each other just melted my heart. The way the story was built, it gave them a chance to get to know each other, to make the romance realistic, as well as time to make all those emotions take root. The mysterious suspense and fierce action, the deadly attempts on their lives, kept the tale real, on the edge, and hopping. Nothing was obvious, each twist of the plot kept the guessing game strong, and the key answers to the mystery hidden until the heart-stopping crescendo. If you love fervent, vehement suspense mixed into the clean romance stories between strong characters in well-plotted tales, No Safe Place is a must-read that I can easily recommend. Also, a perfect book to try Love Inspired line of books, if you haven't before. ~ Five Spoons