Noise for Music's Sake

Noise for Music's Sake

by Napalm Death
5.0 1


$16.11 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.11, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, May 30 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Noise for Music's Sake

In the wake of Napalm Death's long, decade-plus relationship with Earache Records, the legendary band and likewise legendary label partnered once more for Noise for Music's Sake, a double-disc collection of career highlights and miscellany topped off by some informative packaging. No band exemplified grindcore more so than Napalm Death, the seed from which spawned an entire generation of extreme metalheads, not to mention the grindcore scene itself. Earache debuted the band in 1987 with Scum, and ended up releasing eight proper albums total, as well as a stellar EP collection (Death by Manipulation [1991]) and a definitive live album (Bootlegged in Japan [1998]), before severing ties after the release of Words From the Exit Wound in 1999. Napalm Death moved over to Spitfire Records and trudged on in later years, but the band's departure from Earache clearly marked the end of an era. The first disc of Noise for Music's Sake gathers up the highlights of that fruitful era, rounding up early classics like "The Kill" and "Unchallenged Hate" alongside later classics like "Hung" and "Breed to Breathe." The songs are logically rather than chronologically sequenced, and thankfully, the sequencing is praiseworthy, front-loading the band's time-tested best yet saving a few gems for later, all the while moving back and forth through time, butting the early stuff up against the later stuff yet making it all gel smoothly from track to track. It helps that Earache went back and touched up the early, lo-fi stuff from the Scum/From Enslavement to Obliteration era, which here sounds better than ever. The second disc is a hodgepodge of nonalbum recordings, most of which are unessential sans the noteworthy and excellent Mentally Murdered EP, which comprises the first six tracks, and also sans the seventh song, "Pride Assassin," which is likewise excellent. Unessential or not, all this other miscellany is nonetheless interesting, especially for diehards, who will have a ball putting together the pieces of Napalm Death's volatile recording history. The enclosed family tree foldout greatly aids such sleuthing, as do longtime bandmember Shane Embury's song-by-song liner notes of disc two, as well as the more general liners that run several pages in length. The end result is a one-stop Napalm Death collection for neophytes and diehards alike. The first disc is the prime attraction -- a definitive one-disc best-of -- and the second disc is a welcome bonus that would take you a short lifetime to acquire otherwise.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2008
Label: Earache Records
UPC: 0190295967864
catalogNumber: 596786
Rank: 88958

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Napalm Death   Primary Artist
Bill Laswell   Bass
Dean Jones   Vocals
Lee Dorrian   Vocals
Pete Hurley   Guitar
Garry Jennings   Guitar
Scott Leonard   Drums
Ted Parsons   Drums
Pete Sandoval   Drums
David Vincent   Bass,Vocals
John Zorn   Alto Saxophone
G.C. Green   Bass
Jesse Pintado   Guitar
Justin Broadrick   Guitar
Shane Embury   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Interviewee
Danny Herrera   Drums
Andy Baker   Drums
Donald Tardy   Drums
Bill Steer   Guitar
Darren Brookes   Guitar
Mitchell Dickinson   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Mitch Harris   Guitar,Vocals
Mark "Barney" Greenway   Vocals,Interviewee
Peter Rewinski   Guitar
Ian Treacy   Drums
Andy Whale   Drums
Phil Vane   Vocals
Michael Amott   Guitar
Mark Bailey   Bass
Tomas Lindberg   Vocals
Nicholas James Bullen   Bass,Vocals
Stephen Cihatovich   Bass
J. Michael Walker   Bass,Vocals
Lee Barrett   Bass
Lou Koller   Vocals
Paul Neville   Guitar
Jim Whitely   Bass
Pete Giles   Bass,Vocals
Nicholas Barker   Drums
Sanjiv   Vocals
Wayne Aston   Guitar
Mike Craddock   Bass,Vocals
Dermot Dalton   Bass
Joe Caper   Vocals
Paul Adams   Bass
Mark Griffiths   Bass

Technical Credits

Jello Biafra   Composer
Benediction   Contributor
Godflesh   Contributor
Terrorizer   Contributor
Scorn   Contributor
Unseen Terror   Contributor
Defecation   Contributor
Brujeria   Contributor
Pain Killer   Contributor
Righteous Pigs   Contributor
Drop Dead   Contributor
Jesse Pintado   Composer
Justin Broadrick   Composer
Shane Embury   Composer
Mick Harris   Composer
Blood from the Soul   Contributor
Meathook Seed   Contributor
Mitch Harris   Composer
Mark "Barney" Greenway   Composer
Nicholas James Bullen   Composer
Fall of Because   Contributor
Cathedral   Contributor
Warhammer   Contributor
Carcass 1   Contributor
Carcass 2   Contributor
Extreme Noise Terror 2   Contributor
Extreme Noise Terror 7   Contributor
Dom Lawson   Liner Notes
Azag-Thoth   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Noise for Music's Sake 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This double album is a very good buy because you get all of Napalm Death's best songs like "Hung", "Antibody", "Armageddon X7","Diatribes" and the excellent Dead Kennedys' cover, "Nazi Punks". Plus it has the shortest song ever to be recorded, "You Suffer". I don't care for the second disc that much, but it does have some good songs like "No Mental Effort", "Upwards and Uninterested", and "Politics of Common Sense". Like I said before, it's a good buy and worth your money.