Noise Reduction System: Formative European Electronica 1974-1984

Noise Reduction System: Formative European Electronica 1974-1984


$32.48 $37.99 Save 15% Current price is $32.48, Original price is $37.99. You Save 15%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Noise Reduction System: Formative European Electronica 1974-1984

A little over a year after Cherry Red released Close to the Noise Floor: Formative UK Electronica 1975-1984, the label cast their net farther for another engrossing four-disc set of challenging, primarily subterranean sounds made with drum machines and synthesizers. Noise Reduction System: Formative European Electronica 1974-1984 does include contributions from some well-known explorers of progressive electronic music, such as Cluster, Klaus Schulze, Yello, and Front 242, all of whom are present with foundational material. There's also Vangelis, whose "Multi-Track Suggestion" was originally released by a major-label -- and preceded the Academy Award-winning Chariots of Fire by only one year -- yet the snappy track is snug between spasms from cassette-bound micro-label unknowns Ericka Irganon (the juddering "Petite Otite") and Van Kaye + Ignit (the Throbbing Gristle-y "Love You Generator). Most exceptional of all is "Biomutanten" from les Vampyrettes, a one-off "horror with comfort" collaboration between studio wizard Conny Plank and Can's Holger Czukay that resembles a copy of Kevin Ayers' "Song from the Bottom of a Well" dredged from a body of industrial sludge. Otherwise, this is a showcase for obscure cult heroes with phonetically delightful names like Diseño Corbusier, Esplendor Geometrico, and Gagarin Kombinaatti (the latter featuring Mika Vainio, long before he was elevated to demigod status as one-half of Pan Sonic). The approaches, from improvised noise pieces to concise electronic pop songs, are almost as numerous and far-flung as the represented outposts. A significant portion of the tracks appears on compact disc for the first time. Only a few previously resurfaced on legitimate compilations or via reissues from specialist nodes such as Minimal Wave and Dark Entries. Like Close to the Noise Floor, the attached booklet leads with an essay from Dave Henderson, who documented these movements in the U.K. weekly Sounds, and includes information on each track, often provided by the musicians.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/28/2017
Label: Cherry Red
UPC: 5013929103504
catalogNumber: 2910350
Rank: 39752

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Frank Brinkhuis   Piano,Rhythm Box
Ptôse   Synthesizer,Electronic Drums
Ericka Irganon   Synthesizer,Voices
Brian Dommisse   Vocals
Jan Popma   Synthesizer

Technical Credits

Klaus Schulze   Composer
Borghesia   Composer
DDAA   Composer
Dieter Moebius   Composer,Producer
Carlos Perón   Composer
Bernard Szajner   Composer,Producer
Asmus Tietchens   Composer
Robert Görl   Composer
Maurizio Bianchi   Composer
Boris Blank   Composer
Holger Czukay   Composer
Gabi Delgado-Lopez   Composer
Dave Henderson   Liner Notes,Essay
Ingemar Ljungstrom   Composer
Dieter Meier   Composer
Konrad Plank   Composer
Hans-Joachim Roedelius   Producer
Minny Pops   Producer
Form   Composer
Patrick Codenys   Composer
Jean-Luc de Meyer   Composer
Daniel Bressanutti   Composer
Guy-Marc Hinant   Composer
Felix Kubin   Composer
Christina Kubisch   Composer
Kurt Dahlke   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Wim Dekker   Composer
Wally Van Middendorp   Composer
Rui Reininho   Composer
Frank Fenstermacher   Composer
Tasaday   Composer
Thierry Muller   Composer
Alain Neffe   Composer
Jorge Lima Barreto   Composer
Bettina Köster   Composer
Yuri Morozov   Composer
Reichelt   Composer
Giancarlo Toniutti   Composer,Engineer
Gunner Møller Pedersen   Composer
Octavian Nemescu   Composer
Philippe Fichot   Composer
PJ Wassermann   Composer
Dan Söderqvist   Composer
Walt Rockman   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Evangelos Papathanassiou   Composer
Klaus Mabel Aschenneller   Composer
Xavier S   Composer
Frank Vloeberghs   Composer
Dirk Timmermans   Composer
Arturo Lanz   Composer
Juan Carlos Sastre   Composer
Njurmännen   Composer
Gabriel Riaza   Composer
Jens Kraft   Composer
Pieter Mulder   Composer
Veli-Matti Äijälä   Composer
Diseño Corbusier   Composer
Michael Filz   Composer
Daniele Ciullini   Composer
Godeke Ilse   Composer
Daniel Malempré   Composer
Gagarin Kombinaatti   Composer
Axel Kyrou   Composer
Konrad Becker   Composer
Mario Marzidovs?Ek   Composer
Ericka Irganon   Composer
Fabriek   Composer
Andre´ De Koning   Composer
Albert Klein   Composer
Antonios Stratis   Composer
Enrico Piva   Composer,Engineer
Ed Van Kasteren   Composer
Benoit Jarlan   Composer
Rolf Schobert   Composer
Seppo Oförsagd   Composer
Ruud Kluivers   Composer
Lionel Jarlan   Composer
Jan Popma   Composer
Hardijs Ledinš   Composer
Juris Boiko   Composer
Iannis Raikos   Composer
Edwin Brinkhuis   Composer
Lumpy Davy   Composer
Philippe Mignon   Composer
Pekka Ruth   Composer
Nadine Bal   Composer
Engelbert Rehm   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews