Not the Same Old Blues Crap, Vol. 2

Not the Same Old Blues Crap, Vol. 2


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 1?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Not the Same Old Blues Crap, Vol. 2

It worked the first time around, so why not a second offering of Not the Same Old Blues Crap? For volume two, Fat Possum has patched together another riveting collection of hypnotic boogies, wailing guitars, and Mississippi moans -- but lo and behold, there's also a tender side to this album that may surprise both fans and critics of the label. While listeners can still expect to find plenty of electric juke-joint swagger courtesy of R.L. Burnside, Paul "Wine" Jones, and T-Model Ford, a good half of the songs here are statements of subtlety, with Scott Dunbar's falsetto-laden "Easy Rider" (reissued from his 1972 Ahura Mazda LP From Lake Mary) and King Ernest's soul ballad rendering of Tom Waits' "House Where Nobody Lives" leading the way. Fat Possum puts a fat spotlight on its deep lineup of solo performers -- Robert Belfour, Asie Payton, Junior Kimbrough, Dunbar, and Burnside all take relaxed turns inhabiting the role of the lone bluesman, who has perhaps never sounded so alive since the prewar era. But the jewel of this compilation is actually a duet shared by Kimbrough and rockabilly guitarist Charlie Feathers: the lighthearted "I Feel Good Again," which was originally cut in 1969. It's an uncharacteristic but charming blues that marries Feathers' precise, flat-picked strumming with Kimbrough's loping vocals and lead guitar runs. There's absolutely nothing like it -- just like Fat Possum, of course.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/19/2001
Label: Fat Possum Records
UPC: 0045778034222
catalogNumber: 80342
Rank: 115121

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Charlie Feathers   Track Performer
R.L. Burnside   Guitar,Vocals
Junior Kimbrough   Guitar,Vocals
Scott Dunbar   Guitar,Vocals
King Ernest   Vocals
Super Chikan   Track Performer
T-Model Ford   Guitar,Vocals
Robert Belfour   Guitar,Vocals
Asie Payton   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Robert Palmer   Producer
R.L. Burnside   Arranger
Junior Kimbrough   Arranger,Engineer
Andy Kaulkin   Producer
Doug Messenger   Engineer
Bill Morris   Liner Notes
Robbie Norris   Engineer
Chris Morris   Liner Notes
Parker Dinkins   Producer
Bob Corritore   Producer
Joe Sacco   Artwork
Ahura Mazda   Engineer
Bruce Watson   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews