Notes from the Velvet Underground: The Life of Lou Reed

Notes from the Velvet Underground: The Life of Lou Reed

by Howard Sounes


View All Available Formats & Editions


Lou Reed was best known to the general public as the grumpy New Yorker in black who sang "Walk on the Wild Side." To his dedicated admirers, however, he was one of the most innovative and intelligent songwriters of modern times, a natural outsider who lived a tumultuous and tortured life. In this in-depth, meticulously researched and very entertaining biography, Howard Sounes examines the life and work of this fascinating man, including his time as the leader of The Velvet Underground, one of the most important bands in rock'n'roll. Written with a deep knowledge and understanding of the music, the book also sheds new light on the artist's creative process, his mental health problems, his bisexuality, his three marriages, and his addictions to drugs and alcohol. In the course of his research, Sounes interviewed over 140 people from every part of Reed's life—some of whom have not spoken publicly about him before—including music industry figures, band members, fellow celebrities, family members, former wives and lovers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781784160074
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Limited
Publication date: 04/01/2018
Pages: 400
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Howard Sounes is the author of Down the Highway and Fab.

Table of Contents

I Coney Island Baby, 1942-59 1

II On to the Darkened Sea, 1960-4 20

III Honeybun, Black Jack, Sterl and Moesy, 1964-5 44

IV The Exploding Plastic Inevitable, 1966 67

V Light and Dark, 1967-8 95

VI A New VU, 1968-70 116

VII Solo in the Seventies, 1970-3 135

VIII Self-parody, 1973-4 162

IX Howling like the Devil, 1975-6 187

X The Arista Years, 1976-80 210

XI Second Marriage, 1980-7 237

XII New Inspiration, 1987-92 260

XIII Return to the Velvet Underground, 1992-6 284

XIV Love, Lou, 1996-2008 305

XV Nevermore, 2008-13 326

Author's Note and Acknowledgements 347

Source Notes 355

Bibliography 383

Picture Acknowledgements 387

Index 389

Customer Reviews