Nothing But a Burning Light

Nothing But a Burning Light

by Bruce Cockburn


$14.75 $15.99 Save 8% Current price is $14.75, Original price is $15.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Nothing But a Burning Light

Nothing but a Burning Light, Bruce Cockburn's first release for Columbia, teams him with producer T-Bone Burnett, whose singer/songwriter background, and spiritual leanings, seemed to be a perfect match. Throughout, Burnett's production is understated, allowing Cockburn's voice, guitar, and songs to lead the way over a solid foundation of bass, drums, and tasteful organ by Booker T. Jones. This sort of sympathetic production brings out the best in Cockburn and his material, which is consistently strong. Songs such as "Kit Carson," "Mighty Trucks of Midnight," and "Indian Wars" continue the weightier concerns of his work of the past decade, but the majority of the record takes on a more personal, introspective tone. "One of the Best Ones" and "Great Big Love" are winning affirmations of love and life, while the retelling of the nativity, "Cry of a Tiny Babe," is as beautiful and moving a contemporary Christmas song as you're likely to hear. Cockburn also decides to include a rare cover, his excellent reading of the Blind Willie Johnson gospel-blues "Soul of a Man," which fits nicely in the whole of the album. Though it may lack the immediate power, Nothing but a Burning Light is Bruce Cockburn's best since his 1984 release Stealing Fire. Jackson Browne and Sam Phillips guest on backing vocals.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/07/2009
Label: True North
UPC: 0620638007723
catalogNumber: 77
Rank: 50378

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bruce Cockburn   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Guitar (Resonator)
Edgar Meyer   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Jackson Browne   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Guitar (Resonator)
Jim Keltner   Percussion,Drums,Washboard
Michael Been   Bass
Michael Blair   Percussion,Tambourine
T Bone Burnett   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Denny Fongheiser   Drums
Ralph Forbes   Percussion
Booker T. Jones   Organ
Larry Klein   Bass
Mark O'Connor   Mandolin,Violin
Sam Phillips   Background Vocals
Sam Phillips   Background Vocals
Booker T. Jones   Organ

Technical Credits

Blind Willie Johnson   Composer
Bruce Cockburn   Arranger
T Bone Burnett   Producer
Patrick McCarthy   Engineer
Christopher Austopchuk   Art Direction
Paula "Max" Garcia   Engineer
Pat McCarthy   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews