Nothing Is Anywhere

Nothing Is Anywhere

by D Generation


$13.83 $14.99 Save 8% Current price is $13.83, Original price is $14.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, July 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Nothing Is Anywhere

Roughly two decades after they were supposed to save New York punk, D Generation have returned to the recording studio and emerged with their fourth studio album, 2016's Nothing Is Anywhere. This set comes 17 years after their previous LP, 1999's Through the Darkness, with a breakup and re-formation in between, and a fair amount has happened with lead singer and principal songwriter Jesse Malin since then. Malin has gone on to a well-respected solo career, where he balances singer/songwriter sensibilities with rock & roll tunes, and while Nothing Is Anywhere is the strongest and most confident set of six-string bashing he's released since heading out on his own, the album sounds more like a Jesse Malin solo effort than D Generation. That isn't a fatal flaw; the bulk of the material reflects the more mature and contemplative themes Malin usually considers these days, along with a heavier dash of Springsteen-ian street-kid storytelling, but despite the less frantic tempos and more nuanced performances, D Generation sound like a band on Nothing Is Anywhere rather than a bunch of guys backing Jesse Malin, and that makes a big difference. When these guys get their dander up on numbers like "Militant" and "Not Goin' Back," they still sound like a gritty and swaggering punk band, but most of the time the tone is more rock, less punk. That said, guitarists Danny Sage and Richard Bacchus kick up a commendable amount of dust, and bassist Howie Pyro and drummer Michael Wildwood give this music a stomp that's hard but lively. If you were hoping that D Generation were going to deliver another punk rock triumph like 1996's No Lunch, Nothing Is Anywhere doesn't hit the target, but if you've been wishing Jesse Malin would make another tough, full-on rock & roll album, this is just what you've been waiting for.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/29/2016
Label: Mri Associated
UPC: 0020286221746
catalogNumber: 22174
Rank: 285080

Album Credits

Performance Credits

D Generation   Primary Artist
Richard Bacchus   Guitar,Vocals
Jesse Malin   Vocals
Howie Pyro   Bass
Danny Sage   Guitar,Vocals
Michael Wildwood   Drums
Mark Lewis   Piano
Catherine Popper   Guitar,Piano,Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Richard Bacchus   Composer
Jesse Malin   Composer
Howie Pyro   Composer
Danny Sage   Composer,Producer
Michael Wildwood   Composer
Joe Quever   Cover Photo,Sleeve Photo
Mark Lewis   Engineer
Brian Thorn   Engineer
Kabir Hermon   Engineer
Dave Steckert   Back Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews