Pub. Date:
Nothing Was the Same

Nothing Was the Same

by DrakeDrake


$9.99 $17.99 Save 44% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 44%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, September 22


After an EP and two albums that firmly established his moody, introspective style and made him a huge star, Drake's third album, Nothing Was the Same, isn't a huge departure but it does take some steps in new directions. Built around sped-up samples and Wu-Tang-inspired, spooky loops, the production retains the same basic style, but is a little deeper and more foreboding. Provided mostly by longtime collaborator Noah "40" Shebib, the backing is suitably melancholic and claustrophobic enough to match Drake's main lyrical themes of angry boasting, dealing with a broken heart, and being disillusioned by the lifestyle his fame has brought him. This time out, Drake adds to his list of family issues, as a couple tracks deal with re-establishing a relationship with his father and worrying about his mom. It's good to hear him reaching out a little and expanding his concerns because his usual topics are wearing thin, especially the boasting. "Started from the Bottom" is the main offender, since the idea of Drake starting from the bottom is a little ridiculous. If growing up well-off, starring in a TV series, and hooking up early with Weezy is the bottom, we should all want to start off there. It's hard to entirely write off this song, and the others that focus on his greatness, since the music is so evocative and because Drake's basic persona is still appealing. "Too Much," in particular, is a brilliant combination of brag rap and quiet storm balladry that features a simply heartbreaking vocal from Sampha. The tracks that work the best on Nothing are the slow-to-the-point-of-being-static ballads like "Own It," "Connect," and "305 to My City," which feel like the late-night emotional outpourings of a truly sad soul; the songs that bubble with raw emotion and are balanced against very dark loops, like "Wu-Tang Forever"; and the one song that has some uptempo punch, the very poppy R&B groover "Hold on, We're Going Home." That last one shows that Drake could make great left-field R&B if he wanted to, and is a nice contrast to all the angry talk and bitter introspection that fill the rest of the record. As impressive as it is that Drake has become a star while making records that are mostly joyless and twisted up by emotions, it might be nice to hear him loosening up and having some fun now and then. As far as this album goes, though, it's not much fun but it is worth exploring if you've been following Drake's progression up till now. Nothing Was the Same doesn't show large amounts of growth, but the small changes to the sound and the slightly wider net his lyrics cast make it worthwhile. Plus, there aren't many other rappers who do gloom as well as Drake and that's something worth supporting, if only because it's something different than the hip-hop norm in 2013.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/24/2013
Label: Republic
UPC: 0602537521869
catalogNumber: 001913902
Rank: 574


  1. Tuscan Leather
  2. Furthest Thing
  3. Started from the Bottom
  4. Wu-Tang Forever
  5. Own It
  6. Worst Behavior
  7. From Time
  8. Hold on, We're Going Home
  9. Connect
  10. The Language
  11. 305 to My City
  12. Too Much
  13. Pound Cake/Paris Morton Music 2

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Drake   Primary Artist
Cappadonna   Background Vocals
Dionne Wilson   Background Vocals
Adrian Eccleston   Guitar
Patricia Shirley   Background Vocals
Grace Gayle   Background Vocals
Noah Shebib   Piano,Keyboards
Trae Tha Truth   Background Vocals
Chilly Gonzales   Piano
PartyNextDoor   Background Vocals
Deborah Vernal   Background Vocals
Brian Hamilton   Background Vocals
Shawn Lawrence   Background Vocals
Rachel Craig   Background Vocals
Owen Lee   Background Vocals
Omar Richards   Background Vocals
Jennifer Tullooh   Background Vocals
Baka Not Nice   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Whitney Houston   Sample Source
Curtis Mayfield   Sample Source
Jimmy Smith   Sample Source
Bateman   System Engineer
Brian Warfield   Engineer
Chris Godbey   Engineer
Deborah Mannis-Gardner   Sample Clearance
Bryan Williams   Composer,Executive Producer
Bruno Sanfilippo   Composer,Sample Source
Adrian Eccleston   Composer
Jake One   Producer,drum programming
Noel "Gadget" Campbell   Engineer
Christian Plata   Engineer
Jim Eliot   Composer
Detail   Composer,Engineer
Hudson Mohawke   Producer,Instrumentation
Ellie Goulding   Composer,Sample Source
Emile Haynie   Composer,Engineer
Noah Shebib   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer,Instrumentation,Additional Production
Aubrey "Drake" Graham   Executive Producer
Dwayne Carter   Executive Producer
Boi-1DA   Producer
Ronald "Slim Tha Don" Williams   Executive Producer
Oliver El-Khatib   Executive Producer
Noel Cadastre   Engineer
Jas Prince   Executive Producer
Matthew Samuels   drum programming
Jordan Evans   Composer,Producer
DJ Dahi   Producer
Jordan Ullman   Composer,Instrumentation
Kadir Nelson   Cover Art
Travis Sewchan   Engineer
Dacoury Natche   Composer,Instrumentation
Allen Ritter   Composer,Additional Production
Vinylz   Additional Production
Nineteen85   Producer,drum programming,Instrumentation
Majid Jordan   Producer
Donald Hearn   Art Direction
Jeremy "Zodiac" Rose   Composer,Sample Source
Paul Jefferies   Composer,Instrumentation
Mike Zombie   Producer,Instrumentation
Marvin "Hagler" Thomas   Producer,drum programming
Isa Saalabi   Art Direction

Customer Reviews