Now This Is What We Call Blues, Vol. 420

Now This Is What We Call Blues, Vol. 420


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Now This Is What We Call Blues, Vol. 420

Now This Is What We Call Blues, Vol. 420 is a cleverly titled and packaged collection of 13 tracks culled from recent releases on the Telarc Blues imprint. A wide range of styles is represented here, everything from the West Side Chicago sound of Luther "Guitar Junior" Johnson, whose "Crazy Over You" is one of the disc's highlights, to the rollicking New Orleans blues of the Hoodoo Kings, a kind of supergroup that features Eddie Bo, Raful Neal, and Rockin' Tabby Thomas, to the Southern rock-influenced modern blues of Tinsley Ellis, to the authentic-sounding acoustic blues of Paul Geremia. Among the artists Telarc has gathered, you'll find harmonica masters like James Cotton and Charlie Musselwhite, modern-day guitar slingers like Tinsley Ellis, Ronnie Earl, and Joe Louis Walker, and a few unknown up-and-comers like Annie Raines and Colin Linden. Telarc has assembled a very potent lineup of modern blues players, and this collection is a great way to find out about them. If you are a fan of modern electric blues, this is a disc you should pick up.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/28/2003
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408356926
catalogNumber: 83569

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ronnie Earl   Guitar
Tinsley Ellis   Guitar,Vocals
Charlie Musselwhite   Harmonica,Vocals
Raful Neal   Harmonica,Vocals
Joe Louis Walker   Guitar,Vocals
Paul Geremia   Guitar,Vocals
Eddie Bo   Organ,Piano,Vocals
Tom "Bones" Malone   Trombone,Trumpet
Luther "Guitar Junior" Johnson   Guitar,Vocals
Rockin' Tabby Thomas   Guitar,Vocals
Paul Rishell   Guitar,Vocals
Jerry Portnoy   Harmonica
Jimmy Thackery   Guitar,Vocals
Tab Benoit   Guitar,Vocals
Brian Bisesi   Guitar
Earl Cate   Guitar,Background Vocals
Ernie Cate   Keyboards
Crispin Cioe   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Per Hanson   Drums
Levon Helm   Drums
Steve Holley   Drums
Chris Layton   Drums
Colin Linden   Guitar,Vocals
Randy Lee Lippincott   Bass
David Maxwell   Organ,Piano
Kevin McKendree   Organ,Piano
Noel Neal   Bass
Catherine Russell   Percussion,Background Vocals
Rebecca Evans Russell   Background Vocals
Tommy Shannon   Bass
G.E. Smith   Guitar
Mark Stutso   Drums
Darryl White   Drums
Mike Williams   Rhythm Guitar
Reese Wynans   Piano,Hammond Organ
Andrea Re   Percussion,Background Vocals
Denny Breau   Guitar
Annie Raines   Harmonica
Peter Re   Organ
Ken Faltinson   Bass,Piano,Hammond Organ
Gregg Hoover   Guitar
Darren Thiboutot   Drums
Kelly Jones   Background Vocals
T-Bone Wolk   Bass
James Carpenter   Saxophone
Donna Hopkins   Background Vocals
Scott Callison   Drums
Carl Dufrene   Bass
Phillip "Philzone" Skipper   Bass
Jimmy Mouradian   Bass

Technical Credits

James Cotton   Composer
Ronnie Earl   Composer
Tinsley Ellis   Composer
Raful Neal   Composer
Joe Louis Walker   Arranger
Johnny Cash   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Gene Simmons   Composer
Cate Brothers   Contributor
Mississippi Fred McDowell   Composer
Luther "Guitar Junior" Johnson   Composer
Jimmy Thackery   Composer
Tab Benoit   Composer
Brian Bisesi   Composer
Steve Holley   Arranger
Bruce Kulick   Composer
Catherine Russell   Composer
G.E. Smith   Arranger
Paul Kahn   Composer
Todd Park Mohr   Composer
Anilda Carrasquillo   Art Direction
Thoms Macko   Illustrations
Traditional   Composer
T-Bone Wolk   Arranger
Adrian Mills   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews