Number Seven

Number Seven

by Will Hoge


$15.05 $15.99 Save 6% Current price is $15.05, Original price is $15.99. You Save 6%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, August 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Number Seven

If it ain't broke, Will Hoge ain't gonna fix it. Number Seven takes most of its cues from the six albums before it, pairing grizzled country-rockers with the occasional world-weary ballad. In an effort to turn over at least one new leaf, Hoge tackles bigger issues than his love life on a handful of tracks, imagining himself as an immigrant under arrest for crossing "The Illegal Line," and a down-in-the-dumps homeless man reflecting upon his broken "American Dream." Most of the time, though, the lyrics trace his own history as a troubadour of the American bar circuit, meaning there are a lot of faithless women, beer drinking, and highway driving throughout these 11 songs. The most convincing part of the package is Hoge's voice --- a white-soul baritone with enough husk and grit to warrant the blues clichés that occasionally surface in his melodies --- and his band provides appropriate backdrops throughout, texturing the rock songs with layered Telecaster guitars and polishing the ballads with smooth pedal steel. Those who criticize heartland rockers like Bruce Springsteen for being too overzealous will have similar complaints about Number Seven, which is anthemic in the same sort of chest-thumping, roadworn way, but these songs hold their own against some of Hoge's best work.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/27/2011
Label: Rykodisc
UPC: 0014431111624
catalogNumber: 11116
Rank: 84561

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Will Hoge   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping,Vibes,Hammond B3
Bucky Baxter   Pedal Steel Guitar
Charlie Brocco   Vocals
Pat Buchanan   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Ken Coomer   Drums
Vince Gill   Guest Appearance
Kenny Greenberg   Guitar
Jim Horn   Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Kenny Vaughan   Guitar
David Wakefield   Vocals
Keith Gattis   Electric Guitar
John Lancaster   Piano,Hammond B3
Tom Bukovac   Guitar
Jonathan Hamby   Piano
Carl Broemel   Guitar
Ben Sesar   Drums
Adam Beard   Bass,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Sarah Buxton   Background Vocals
Scott Ducaj   Trumpet
Jenny Talia   Vocals
Sigurdur Birkis   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Hand Clapping,Timpani
Devin Malone   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,12-string Guitar
Adam Ollendorff   Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Hand Clapping
Brady Beard   Vocals
Ian Fitchuck   Piano
Kaydee Joyce   Vocals
Kirstin Jacobsen   Vocals
Danni Bocker   Vocals
Brittant Wesemann   Vocals
Andrew Petroff   Vocals

Technical Credits

Charlie Brocco   Engineer
Will Hoge   Composer,Producer
Paul Moak   Composer
Adam Beard   Engineer
Jedd Hughes   Composer
Dylan Altman   Composer
Andy Baggett   Graphic Design
Sigurdur Birkis   Engineer
Eric Paslay   Composer
Matt Rausch   Engineer
Luellyn Latocki Hensley   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews