Nuove Musiche

Nuove Musiche

by Rolf Lislevand


$15.74 $18.99 Save 17% Current price is $15.74, Original price is $18.99. You Save 17%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Nuove Musiche

Well aware that the pursuit of authenticity in performing early music can be more limiting than liberating, Rolf Lislevand and his ensemble take a boldly free approach to Baroque material on Nuove Musiche, with stunningly successful results. Lislevand, a Norwegian-born virtuoso of the lute and guitar, has already built a prominent career on more traditional lines, playing with Jordi Savall's ensembles and releasing several solo albums on small European labels. But it's fitting that this, his debut album for ECM New Series, represents such an original approach to bringing the past into conversation with the present. Lislevand's group -- six other musicians, among whom Pedro Estevan's variegated percussion and Arianna Savall's plangent vocals contribute the strongest individual effects -- begins with 17th-century pieces by composers including Frescobaldi, Kapsberger, Piccinini, and Pellegrini, but these sources are used as a ground for imaginative exploration and improvisation. In the Passacaglias Andaluz, for instance, archaic sounds alternate with a nearly contemporary Spanish guitar style, while the musicians travel to the British Isles for a Passacaglia Celtica and indulge in pure expressive intensity on the Passacaglia Cromatica. Lilting correntes and ciaconnas quicken the pulse a bit, but a meditative mood predominates throughout, binding the program into a remarkably unified experience. (This cohesion also owes much to the distinctive sonic space that ECM's Manfred Eicher has so carefully created.) Bringing a real gust of fresh air to this material, Rolf Lislevand makes it clear that early music doesn't need to sound old -- an attitude that bodes well indeed for the repertoire's future.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/07/2006
Label: Ecm Records
UPC: 0028947630494
catalogNumber: 000507002
Rank: 62905

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rolf Lislevand   Primary Artist,Guitar,Theorbo,Baroque Guitar,Archlute
Bjørn Kjellemyr   Double Bass
Pedro Estevan   Percussion
Marco Ambrosini   Viola d'amore,Nyckelharpa
Arianna Savall   Harp,Vocals
Thor Harald Johnsen   Chitarrone
Guido Morini   Organ,Clavichord

Technical Credits

Manfred Eicher   Producer
Jan Erik Kongshaug   Engineer
Rolf Lislevand   Arranger,Composer,Liner Notes,Adaptation
Bjørn Kjellemyr   Contributor
Jan Jedlicka   Cover Photo
Unspecified   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews