Nurse, Come You Here!: More True Stories of a Country Nurse on a Scottish Isle (The Country Nurse Series, Book Two)

Nurse, Come You Here!: More True Stories of a Country Nurse on a Scottish Isle (The Country Nurse Series, Book Two)

by Mary J. MacLeod


View All Available Formats & Editions


*An iBooks US Bestseller*

Mary J. Macleod and her husband left the London area for an idyllic place to raise their young children in the late sixties, and they found the island of Papavray in the Scottish Hebrides. There they bought a croft house on a “small acre” of land, and Mary J. (also known as Julia) became the district nurse. At the age of eighty, she first recounted her family’s adventures in her debut, Call the Nurse, where she introduced readers to the austere beauties of the island and the hardy charm and warmth of the islanders. The anecdotes in this new volume take us to the end of her stay on Papavray, after which the MacLeod family left for California.

Once again we meet the crofters Archie, Mary, and Fergie, and other friends. There are stories of troubles, joy, and tragedy, of children lost and found, the cow that wandered into the kitchen, a distraught young mother who strides into the icy surf with her infant child, the ghostly apparition that returns after death to reveal the will in a sewing box. There are accidents and broken bones, twisters that come in from the sea, and acts of simple courage and uncommon generosity. Here again, a nurse’s compassion meets Gaelic fortitude in these true tales of a bygone era.

Skyhorse Publishing, along with our Arcade, Good Books, Sports Publishing, and Yucca imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of biographies, autobiographies, and memoirs. Our list includes biographies on well-known historical figures like Benjamin Franklin, Nelson Mandela, and Alexander Graham Bell, as well as villains from history, such as Heinrich Himmler, John Wayne Gacy, and O. J. Simpson. We have also published survivor stories of World War II, memoirs about overcoming adversity, first-hand tales of adventure, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781628725360
Publisher: Arcade
Publication date: 05/05/2015
Series: The Country Nurse , #2
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Mary J. MacLeod qualified as a nurse in England and has lived in Aden (now Yemen), the United States, Sweden, and Saudi Arabia as well as her husband George’s native Scotland. This is her second book, and she has written her third. She lives in Ascot in Berkshire, England.

Table of Contents

Prologue xi

1 Down in a Ditch 1

2 Grey Shadows 9

3 Clannan Beg 18

4 A Cow in the Kitchen 28

5 A Quiet Bay? 34

6 Josh 45

7 Tears and Twisters 51

8 A Light in the Night 59

9 The Calm and the Storm 67

10 A Damp Delivery 73

11 Guilty or Not Guilty 79

12 Riding Sunshine 85

13 Father Peter's Quest 92

14 Bowler Hats 99

15 The Tangled Web 108

16 Eggs, Eggs, and More Eggs 120

17 A Four-Legged Sailor 127

18 The Lure of Papavray 131

19 Island Animals 144

20 Parents and Problems 152

21 Sunshine's Adventure 160

22 The Echo in the Hills 164

26 The School Outing 178

24 Miss Amelia Arabella Anstey-Smythe 190

25 The Man Who Washed 198

26 Johnny's Village 203

27 Elizabeth, Ina, and a Lot of Snow 210

28 Little Boy Lost 223

29 From the Deep to the Sky 228

30 007 in a Morris Minor 235

31 Home! 244

32 California Sunshine! 254

33 Nevada 263

34 Storms and Speed 269

35 A Grasshopper and a Black Widow 276

36 Back to California 284

37 The End of an Era 293

Epilogue 298

Glossary 301

Customer Reviews