O Lux Beata Trinitas

O Lux Beata Trinitas

by Clare College Choir, Cambridge


$17.25 $19.99 Save 14% Current price is $17.25, Original price is $19.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23


Graham Ross and the Choir of Clare College, Cambridge, have released a series of albums on Harmonia Mundi that outline the liturgical year, with programs devoted to Advent, Christmas, Passiontide, Easter, All Saints and All Souls, and Epiphany. This 2018 album, O lux beata Trinitas, rounds out the series with music on the subject of the Trinity, featuring works from the British and Russian choral traditions. The increasing popularity of Orthodox Christian chant and liturgical music by Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky, Sergey Rachmaninov, and to a lesser extent Alexander Grechaninov, Mikhail Glinka, and Pavel Cesnokov, may have revitalized the Western choral repertoire, but the core of most English church music still depends on the customary mix of Renaissance masters (represented here by William Byrd and John Sheppard), Victorians (Charles Villiers Stanford, John Stainer, and Charles Wood), and modern and contemporary composers (Benjamin Britten, James Macmillan, Gabriel Jackson, and Joshua Pacey), giving the Clare College Choir a great variety of sacred styles and moods to choose from. Of added interest for choral fans are the two world premiere recordings: Ross' "Duo Seraphim," an ecstatic antiphonal work of haunting intensity, and Pacey's "Tres sunt," a contemplative motet that essentially outlines the Trinitarian doctrine in English and Latin texts. This collection demonstrates the group's extraordinary versatility and compelling ensemble sound, which give the performances an air of excitement not usually associated with English choral music.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2018
Label: Harmonia Mundi Fr.
UPC: 3149020227022
catalogNumber: 902270
Rank: 208786


  1. Hail, Gladdening Light, for double choir
  2. Hymn to the Trinity ("Honor, virtus et potestas"), for chorus
  3. Cherubim's Song (Kheruvimskaya), for chorus in C major
  4. Tres sunt, for chorus
  5. Liturgy of St John Chrysostom, for chorus, Op. 31: Heruvimskaya pesn (Cherubic Hymn)
  6. O lux beata Trinitas, motet for 6 voices (SSAATB)
  7. Work(s): Libera nos, salva nos I & II
  8. Sacred Pieces (9) for chorus: Heruvimskaya pesn (Cherubic Hymn), in F major
  9. Mass, for 2 basses, chorus & organ: Sanctus and Benedictus
  10. I Saw the Lord, anthem for chorus & organ
  11. Heruvimskaya pesn (Cherubic Hymn), for chorus, Op. 29/5
  12. Psalm 150: O praise God in his holiness, for soprano, chorus & orchestra, Op. 27
  13. Duo Seraphim, for chorus
  14. Festival Te Deum, for trumpet, chorus & organ, Op. 32
  15. Izhe Cheruvimy (Cherubic Hymn), for chorus

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews