Obsidian Mirror (Obsidian Mirror Series #1)

Obsidian Mirror (Obsidian Mirror Series #1)

by Catherine Fisher
4.6 9

Hardcover

$10.97 $17.99 Save 39% Current price is $10.97, Original price is $17.99. You Save 39%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Obsidian Mirror (Obsidian Mirror Series #1) by Catherine Fisher

The obsidian mirror. Its power is great and terrible. Men have been lost in it, the dead brought back to life through it, and the future annihilated by it. Or this is what will happen unless the mirror is destroyed. Three people seek the mirror: the first has been sent from the future to shatter its power; the second will protect the mirror at all costs, obsessed with its power; and the third needs the mirror to find a murdered father and save his life. But only one can succeed.

The mirror can send you to the past, but it will not bring you back.

With superb world-building that includes the real world, the faery world, and a dystopic future, this hauntingly astonishing adventure is the start of a new trilogy from the master of the sci-fi/fantasy genre, Catherine Fisher. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Dr. Who, Shakespeare, and Blade Runner won't be disappointed.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780803739697
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 04/23/2013
Series: Obsidian Mirror Series , #1
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.40(d)
Lexile: HL550L (what's this?)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Catherine Fisher, acclaimed poet and novelist, was born in Newport, Wales. She graduated from the University of Wales with a degree in English and a fascination for myth and history. She was named the first Children’s Laureate of Wales and was invited to Buckingham Palace to meet Queen Elizabeth. She is the author of the critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling books Incarceron and Sapphique.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Obsidian Mirror 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Catherine Fisher does it again. If you loved Incarceron, if you love smart, intricate fantasy/sci-fi with an emphasis on amazing world-building and surprising plots twists, if you love time travel and a cast of multi-demensional characters, you can't miss this book! It is the start of a series too, and I can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Paperback_Princess More than 1 year ago
This book was sadly a victim of my apathy. I was looking for a book that would wow me and draw me into it, but instead I found that I didn’t care about finishing the book through the entire thing and I don’t think that was any fault of the book, but rather my own exhaustion taking a toll on me reading. It reminded me a lot of the Alex Rider books where there is this book who is hell bent on some kind of retribution for wrongs done to his family. It had this reckless kid feel to it where you see the importance of family and that was really great. I enjoyed the quirks of the book like the fact that Jake had a monkey that he stole and that he was this super determined kid. I felt badly for him that everything in his life seemed to be in the garbage having lost his father and his mother seems to have abandoned him. At the same time though, I felt like I didn’t get to know much about him because it was told from the 3rd person, and who the book was talking about jumped around between our main characters, Sarah, Venn, Piers, Wharton, Gabriel and Jake. While it was great getting a look at everyone in the book, it irritated that Fischer wouldn’t finish a scene, instead she would leave it with a cliff hanger and then switch to someone else and go back and forth like that quite a bit. I also felt that there were too many elements that went into this book. There were fairies and time travel and monkeys and it all got very confusing. I think that you need to go into this book expecting things to be a little strange because I went in not knowing what to expect, and I felt sort of thrown for a loop. This book would be great for fans of Percy Jackson and Alex Rider, so if you know people that love them, they should check this out.
book4children More than 1 year ago
My husband accuses me of hiding. He's right. I place books all around the house in weird places so that I can hide when I need a break. I will sit in my closet with the door shut and read because no one thinks to look for me in the closet. I have what I call "hiding spot books". Obsidian Mirror started out as a hiding spot book, but it didn't end up as one. The problem with hiding spot books is that they take longer to read than books out in the open because you can't hide for more than a couple minutes. This is not the kind of book I could read a bit at a time. I found myself hiding for far too long as I dashed through the pages. The story is bone chilling. It's haunting and mysterious. A melding of fantasy and time travel that you can't walk away from. The characters are troubled - each trying to get to the mirror for their own reasons. But the mirror is not so easy to use. It doesn't work the way anyone expects, and the results are catastrophic. I can't wait to read the next installment! Content: Some violence, but I consider it clean.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a great book! I stayed a up a couple of hours just to finish the book. Hope you love it like i did ; )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I WANT THAT MIRROR
CrazyForNewBooks More than 1 year ago
This book takes you on a trip into the past, as well as into the future. Oberon Venn, a man who lives for only one thing, to bring his wife back from the dead, opens his house to his godson, Jake