Of Time and the River, Volume I

Of Time and the River, Volume I

by Thomas Wolfe


$21.83 $32.99 Save 34% Current price is $21.83, Original price is $32.99. You Save 34%.


Thomas Clayton Wolfe (1900-1938) was an important American novelist of the 20th century. He wrote four lengthy novels, plus many short stories, dramatic works, and novel fragments. He is known for mixing highly original, poetic, rhapsodical, and impressionistic prose with autobiographical writing. His books, written during the Great Depression, depict the variety and diversity of American culture. He received his Masters in playwriting at Harvard University. Unable to sell any of his plays, Wolfe found his writing style was more suited to fiction than to the stage. He took a temporary job teaching at New York University, but left after a year for Europe to continue writing. Look Homeward, Angel (1929) is the edited version of Wolfe's original novel O Lost. After his death, two further novels, The Web and the Rock (1939) and You Can't Go Home Again (1940) were published posthumously. His other works include: Of Time and the River (1935), The Story of a Novel (1936) and The Face of a Nation (1939).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781406576955
Publisher: The Book Depository
Publication date: 02/29/2008
Pages: 524
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.17(d)

About the Author

A larger than life figure -- like his contemporary, Ernest Hemingway -- Thomas Wolfe embodied a particularly American vision of the restless and eager writer, taking in the totality of his life experience and turning it into a gigantic, unwieldy vision in prose. With the publication of his semiautobiographical Look Homeward, Angel in 1929, Wolfe announced his dramatic entrance on the stage of modern fiction; but an early death made his exit sadly premature.

Date of Birth:

October 3, 1900

Date of Death:

September 15, 1938

Place of Birth:

Asheville, North Carolina

Place of Death:

Baltimore, Maryland


B.A., University of North Carolina, 1920; M.A., Harvard University, 1922; further graduate study, 1923

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews