Off Herring Cove Road: The Problem Being Blue

Off Herring Cove Road: The Problem Being Blue

by Michael Kroft

Paperback(3rd ed.)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19


Book 3 of 4 of the Herring Cove Road series

With Blue's father in prison for selling marijuana and his mother estranged for over the last seven years, Blue is doing well, all considering. As the second addition to the not-so-nuclear Dixon family of Lisa, her ten-year-old son, Dwight, and the retired, Jewish introvert, Av, Blue finds himself living in a much better area of Halifax, Nova Scotia, going to a much better school and for the first time, actually applying himself academically as he struggles to fit in.

All that's soon threatened when Blue's estranged mother returns to take him away, and around the same time, he's harassed and threatened by his father's affiliation with the very dangerous, local biker gang to whom his father owes money.

Blue, his surrogate family, and Dwight's recent overachieving classmate/friend, Lyon, are forced to deal with the quickly escalating problems that threaten both the family unit and its members.


Taking place in Halifax, Nova Scotia, the series follows the sometimes amusing, sometimes heartbreaking and sometimes terrifying events that follow an introverted old Jewish man's retirement as he reluctantly befriends a young and struggling single mother, her naive and lonely son, and lastly, a boy streetwise beyond his years.

​"I don't usually enjoy books in a series but this was an exception. It was uplifting, and interesting with some twists I didn't see coming...It wasn't all sweet and goody two shoes either. It had some dark and realistic moments and characters. Very well written." -(Amazon Customer)

Volume 1) On Herring Cove Road: Mr. Rosen and His 43Lb Anxiety

Volume 2) Still on Herring Cove Road: Hickory, Dickory, Death

Volume 3) Off Herring Cove Road: The Problem Being Blue

Volume 4) Before Herring Cove Road: Ruth Goldman and the Nincompoop

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780993732874
Publisher: H & S Publishing
Publication date: 08/31/2018
Series: Herring Cove Road , #3
Edition description: 3rd ed.
Pages: 246
Sales rank: 630,630
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.52(d)

About the Author

Michael Kroft is an eclectic reader and an accidental novelist. Being a writer of short stories of various genres, his initial novel started out as a simple short story, but because of his love for the characters, it quickly bloomed to a full-length novel of 87,000 words.

With his newfound love for writing novels, Kroft turned his first novel, On Herring Cove Road: Mr. Jew and the Goy Boy, into the family saga series Herring Cove Road, with each following novel also in the contemporary and family saga genres but with sub-genres of Murder Mystery, Crime, and a love story that continues beyond when the credits should come up.

After the completion of his fourth and final book in the Herring Cove Road series, Kroft has plans to expand into a Science Fiction dystopia series, a Middle-School Fantasy series, a Crime Thriller novel, a Noir novel and, if that wasn't enough of a range, a Paranormal Horror Thriller. Originally from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Michael Kroft now lives in Montreal, Canada, is single and, apparently, with too much time on his hands.

Michael Kroft's current works:

The five-volume contemporary family saga series Herring Cove Road:

1) On Herring Cove Road: Mr. Jew and the Goy Boy
2) Still on Herring Cove Road: Hickory, Dickory, Death
3) Off Herring Cove Road: The Problem Being Blue
4) Before Herring Cove Road: (Part One) The Lady and the Nincompoop (A Love Story) -Release Date: January, 2017
5) Before Herring Cove Road: (Part Two) When Anarchy Rules (A War Story) -Release Date: June, 2017

Michael Kroft's Website:

Michael Kroft's facebook page:

Michael Kroft's Twitter: @michaelkroft

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews