Off the Grid

Off the Grid

by Robert McCaw

Hardcover(None)

$26.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Kilauea’s smoldering lava fields—a unique place to bury the bodies
 
A scrap of cloth fluttering in the wind leads Hilo police Chief Detective Koa Kāne to the tortured remains of an unfortunate soul left to burn in the path of an advancing lava flow. For Koa, it’s the second gruesome homicide of the day, and he soon discovers the murders are linked. These grisly crimes on Hawai‘i’s Big Island could rewrite history—or cost Chief Detective Koa Kane his career.
 
The dead, a reclusive couple living off the grid, turn out to be mysterious fugitives. The CIA, the Chinese government, and the Defense Intelligence Agency attempt to thwart Koa’s investigation and obscure the victims’ true identities. Undeterred by mounting political pressure, Koa pursues the truth only to find himself drawn into a web of international intrigue.
 
While Koa investigates, the Big Island scrambles to prepare for the biggest and most explosive political rally in its history. Despite police resources stretched to the breaking point, Koa uncovers a government conspiracy so shocking its exposure topples senior officials far beyond Hawai‘i’s shores.
 
Perfect for fans of James Lee Burke’s Dave Robicheaux

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608093618
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication date: 07/02/2019
Series: Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series , #1
Edition description: None
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Robert McCaw grew up in a military family, traveling the world. He is a graduate of Georgetown University, served as a U.S. Army lieutenant, and earned a law degree from the University of Virginia. He was a partner in a major international law firm in Washington, D.C. and New York City, representing major Wall Street clients in complex civil and criminal cases. Having lived on the Big Island of Hawaiʻi, McCaw imbues his writing of the Islands with his more than 20-year love affair with this Pacific paradise. Off the Grid follows Death of a Messenger in his Koa Kāne Hawaiian Mystery series and is followed by Fire and Vengeance. Bob now lives in New York City with his wife, Calli. 

Customer Reviews