Oh No! UFO! (Strange Encounters Series #1)

Oh No! UFO! (Strange Encounters Series #1)

Paperback(First Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Oh No! UFO! (Strange Encounters Series #1) by Linda Joy Singleton

Cassie Strange is the only normal person in her family. Her dad is a TV celebrity who debunks the paranormal in his weekly cable show I Don't Believe It! Her mom is a naturalist who once wore a gown of grass to get her point across. Cassie's genius brother is an aspiring actor who's always in costume. And Amber, Cassie's kid sister, has a secret way of talking to animals.

When her family goes on a camping trip, Cassie finally feels they are doing something "normal" - that is, until she finds out that the vacation is really an excuse for her dad to investigate UFO sightings in the area.

After their first night in the tent, Amber is not acting at all like herself. Cassie realizes that something is up, and she soon discovers that her "sister" is an alien imposter named Vee. Of course, her father doesn't believe her. How can Cassie alone rescue Amber before the aliens use her sister for show-and-tell?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780738705798
Publisher: Llewellyn Worldwide, Ltd.
Publication date: 08/01/2004
Series: Strange Encounters Series , #1
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 192
Product dimensions: 5.22(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.46(d)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Linda Joy Singleton is author of over twenty-five books for young people, including the award-winning Seer series, about a teen psychic.

Singleton makes her home in Northern California where she enjoys life in the country with a barnyard of animals including horses, cats, dogs, and pigs and collects vintage series books like Nancy Drew, Trixie Belden and Judy Bolton.

Singleton especially loves to interact with her readers through speaking engagements at schools and libraries, as well as from their direct feedback. When asked why she writes for young people she says, “I love seeing the world through the heart of a child, where magic is real and every day begins a new adventure. I hope to inspire them to reach for their dreams. Writing for kids is a gift, a responsibility, and an honor.”

Table of Contents

Chapter 1Roughing It1
Chapter 2A "Typical" Family7
Chapter 3To Believe or Not to Believe15
Chapter 4Beware of Dogs21
Chapter 5What's a Thingamajig?27
Chapter 6Out with Outhouses32
Chapter 7Amber-napped39
Chapter 8Going Quackers44
Chapter 9Bubble, Bubble, Potato Trouble52
Chapter 10Splash Attack57
Chapter 11I Smell a Dirty Space Brat69
Chapter 12Nature, Yikes!72
Chapter 13Impossible Imposter79
Chapter 14Ear We Go Again85
Chapter 15Mind Into Matter93
Chapter 16Holding On To the Memories102
Chapter 17A Promise107
Chapter 18Bad News Gets Worse109
Chapter 19Hopeless and Helpless119
Chapter 20Inside the Enemy's Camp122
Chapter 21Pet Poochie Panic131
Chapter 22No Deal!134
Chapter 23Trick or Terror140
Chapter 24Zonked149
Chapter 25Baby and the Beasts154
Chapter 26Bow-Wow Wow!161
Chapter 27Just in Time Justice169

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews