Okamoto Kido: Master of the Uncanny

Okamoto Kido: Master of the Uncanny


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Born in 1872, Kidō wrote theater reviews, covered the Russo-Japanese War as a newspaper reporter, and eventually became a playwright and author. In addition to a number of well-received plays, he also penned more than fifty horror stories over a roughly ten-year period starting in the mid-1920s. Just prior to this period, the Great Kantō Earthquake of 1923 destroyed almost everything in Tokyo that remained from the Edo era, and Japanese horror itself was transitioning from the traditional uncanny stories to more modern horror structures.

While many of Kidō’s stories are retellings of tales from China and other nations, he also drew on a diverse range of traditions, including the heritage of Edo-era storytellers such as Ueda Akinari and Asai Ryōi, to produce a dazzling array of work covering the entire spectrum from time-honored ghost tropes to modern horror. The majority of his stories were collected in four volumes: Seiadō kidan (1926), Kindai iyō hen (1926), Iyō hen (1933), and Kaijū (1936).

Kidō remains popular for his elegant, low-key style, subtly introducing the “other” into the background, and raising the specter of the uncanny indirectly and often indistinctly.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9784909473165
Publisher: Intercom
Publication date: 10/01/2020
Pages: 180
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.41(d)

Table of Contents

  • The Green Frog God
  • Tone Crossing
  • The Monkey’s Eyes
  • The Snake Spirit
  • The Clear-water Well
  • Crabs
  • The One-legged Woman
  • Here Lies a Flute
  • The Shadow-stepping Game
  • The White-haired Demon
  • The Man Cursed by an Eel
  • The Kiso Traveler

Customer Reviews