On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller

On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller

by Barbara Nadel

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

In Istanbul - the golden city on the Bosphorus - ancient myths and modern evils are at work...

On the Bone is the eighteenth novel in the brilliant Istanbul crime thriller series starring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Lindsey Davis.

'Nadel's evocation of the shady underbelly of modern Turkey is one of the perennial joys of crime fiction' - Mail on Sunday

On a buzzing street in the fashionable district of Beyoglu, a young man drops dead. Ümit Kavas's death was natural but the autopsy betrays a shocking truth: his last meal was human flesh.

Under desperate pressure from their superiors, Inspector Cetin Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Süleyman begin their most obscure investigation yet. How did Ümit Kavas, apparently a good, liberal man, come to partake in the greatest taboo of all? Did he act alone? And who was his victim?

Soon they find themselves embroiled in a dark web of underground worlds: of Turkey's old secular elite; a community of squatters; and a new gastronomy scene breaking every boundary. But where does the truth lie?

What readers are saying about On the Bone:

'Combines beautifully honed storytelling and fascinating insights into life in Istanbul'

'One of her best yet'

'Fascinating in its depiction of the changed Turkish political landscape, and how that change affects the people of Istanbul from all walks of life, from the rich to the poor, the transsexuals to the young married couples, the police departments to the military'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781472213815
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing, Limited
Publication date: 01/14/2016
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 706,518
File size: 785 KB

About the Author

Trained as an actress, Barbara Nadel used to work in mental health services. Born in the East End of London, she now writes full time and has been a visitor to Turkey for over twenty years. She received the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger for her novel DEADLY WEB, and the Swedish Flintax Prize for historical crime fiction for her first Francis Hancock novel, LAST RIGHTS.
To find out more, follow Barbara on Twitter @BarbaraNadel or visit her website www.barbara-nadel.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews