On the Right Track

On the Right Track

by The Skatalites


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


On the Right Track

The Skatalites lineup on this new recording, cut in Australia in 2006 during their first tour there, consists of just two original members of the ridiculously influential Jamaican group, drummer Lloyd Knibb and alto saxophonist Lester Sterling. But even with such legendary founders as Don Drummond and Roland Alphonso long gone, the sound produced by the Skatalites more than four decades after their inception is instantly recognizable as the one that defined the genre and set the standards that would be copied by generations of neo-ska bands. On the Right Track, the Skatalites' first album of new music since 2000, is comprised almost entirely of original material penned by the current members. Reportedly, the musicians created the songs in the studio and cut most of the songs in one take. But to its credit there's little to distinguish On the Right Track from the classic Skatalites music of old, save, perhaps, for the superior recording quality and the more open-ended, jazz-informed approach to the instrumental solos. And one big distinction: there's a female vocalist, Doreen Shaffer, whose own soulful "Bye Bye" is one of the album's highlights on the primarily instrumental album. Beyond that, it's the Skatalites doing what they've been doing so brilliantly all these years: the trademark tandem horn charts burst forth like the best of the American Stax records of the '60s, Knibb and bassist Val Douglas remain steady on the beat, the guitars and keyboards provide ceaselessly inventive melody, and the tunes are all remarkably, immediately familiar even though you've never heard them before.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/08/2007
Label: Aim Records
UPC: 0752211109224
catalogNumber: 1092

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Skatalites   Primary Artist
Doreen Shaffer   Vocals,Group Member
Kevin Batchelor   Trumpet,Group Member
Cedric Brooks   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Val Douglas   Bass,Group Member
Devon James   Bass,Guitar,Group Member
Lloyd Knibbs   Drums,Group Member
Lester Sterling   Alto Saxophone
Ken Stewart   Keyboards,Group Member
Karl "Cannonball" Bryan   Tenor Saxophone
Vin "Don Drummond Jr" Gordon   Trombone
A. Metsch   Guitar

Technical Credits

Doreen Shaffer   Composer
Andy Bassford   Author
Kevin Batchelor   Composer
Jim Bessman   Author
Phil Chen   Author
Phyllis Dillon   Composer
Val Douglas   Composer,Engineer
Devon James   Composer
Fred Shuster   Author
Peter Noble   Executive Producer
Hopeton Lewis   Composer
Dermott Hussey   Author
Patty McKay   Author
Ken Stewart   Composer,Author
Peter Panic   Engineer
Paul Pilsneniks   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Carter Van Pelt   Author
Philip G. Freeman   Author
Skatallites   Audio Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews