Once Kissed: An O'Brien Family Novel

Once Kissed: An O'Brien Family Novel

by Cecy Robson

NOOK BookDigital original (eBook - Digital original)

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

RITA AWARD FINALIST • Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.

Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.

Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.

Praise for Once Kissed

“Make room on your list of book boyfriends for Curran O’Brien! This bad-boy cop is fiercely protective of the feisty Tess, and the sexual tension between these two is off the charts!”USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne

“Robson’s O’Brien family has the hottest brothers ever! . . . It’s impossible not to keep your fingers crossed for an HEA, but the author knows exactly what she’s doing as readers hold their breath during this roller-coaster ride of passion.”RT Book Reviews

“If you love a hot alpha male with a badge, you’ll love Cecy Robson’s Once Kissed.”New York Times bestselling author Claudia Connor

“A delightful and sensual read with a cheeky hero and a sharp heroine.”Heroes and Heartbreakers
 
“A riotous hit.”—Addicted to Happily Ever After
 
“Robson proves once again that she can sweep us off our feet with a fun, romantic tale. . . . [Once Kissed] is another must-read. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.”—Rainy Day Ramblings
 
“[Robson] truly is a talented writer who never ceases to amaze me with her words.”—My Guilty Obsession
 
“Robson [is] an amazing author that captivates you with her words . . . I enjoyed [Once Kissed] immensely.”—Collector of Book Boyfriends & Girlfriends
 
“I was very pleased with Once Kissed and all it offered. Especially the laughs.”—Christy’s Love of Books

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101883556
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 11/03/2015
Series: O'Brien Family Series , #1
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 293
Sales rank: 198,179
File size: 919 KB

About the Author

Cecy Robson is the author of the Shattered Past series, the O’Brien Family novels, the upcoming Carolina Beach novels, and the award-winning Weird Girls urban fantasy romance series. A double-nominated RITA Award finalist for Once Pure and Once Kissed, Cecy is a recovering Jersey girl living in the South who enjoys carbs way too much and exercise way too little. Gifted and cursed with an overactive imagination, she can typically be found on her laptop silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 1

Curran


 
“Are you seriously kidding me?” I nail my brother with my best cop face. Any perp would freeze, curse, or take off running. Declan doesn’t so much as blink. It shouldn’t surprise me. He’s never been the type to run from a fight, even before he earned his title as assistant DA.


 
“Curran, quit your bitching. It’s a cake assignment,” he says. “Look at it as a break until you’re back on the job.”


 
“You sayin’ I can’t do the job?”


 
Declan’s jaw tightens hard enough to stiffen every muscle in his face. Either I pissed him off or I’m onto something. “I’m saying it wouldn’t hurt to have more time before you’re back on the streets,” he answers, keeping his voice low. “What happened to your partner Joey isn’t something you just get over.”


 
“Who’s saying I’m over it? I know I screwed up.” And so does everyone on the force, I don’t add. “That doesn’t mean I’m washed up or can’t do my job.”


 
Declan’s already stiff posture tenses even more. “I never said you were washed up, or that you can’t—”


 
“Might as well have.”


 
“Curran, don’t you get it? It’s not a punishment.”


 
“Don’t you get it? While you’re sitting here behind a desk, I got dealers and gangbangers offing people left and right—and you’re asking me to play bodyguard to your librarian.”


 
Declan leans back in his office chair, clearly annoyed, but also worried. “She’s not a librarian, Curran. She’s an intern in her last year of law school who’s helping me with research in the Montenegro case.”


 
“Like I said, librarian.”


 
“Jesus. Just help me out, will ya?” he snaps, rubbing his forehead hard.


 
Ya? Okay, now he’s pissed. Behind that new suit, clean-shaven face, and hundred-dollar haircut, my brother’s Philly through and through. One more smartass comment from me and the “youz” are going to drop like water ice and his fist will swing my way.


 
With a groan, Declan pushes away from his desk and stands to face the window. Useless gesture, if you ask me. His view is a brick wall. But I suppose it’s either that or pace, and his closet-sized office isn’t big enough to take more than a few steps.


 
The thing is, I can read faces. He knows as much, and doesn’t want me to read his now. “Curran. This is my chance to move up,” he says. “Zabrinski, head of Homicide, is retiring in a few months. I’ve paid my dues, worked the shit cases, and won trials seasoned DAs thought I should plead out.” He looks at me then. “If I can put Montenegro away, it would upset organized crime from here to Jersey.”


 
“And seal your position in Homicide,” I finish for him.


 
“Yeah. It would.”


 
I cross my arms. “So why the hell do I have to babysit your librarian? If anything, I should be watching your back. You painted a bull’s-eye on your forehead by taking this case. Vincent Montenegro isn’t just a mob boss. He’s a legend only a dumbass would cross.” I roll my eyes at his glare. “Calm your shit—you know what I mean.”


 
“Don’t you think I know that? It’s the reason I don’t want anyone else helping me with this case. No other names. No one but me for the mob to target.”


 
“And no one else to steal your glory,” I add, which earns me yet another glare. “Declan, I know you want the promotion, just like I know you want the street cred. But don’t be stupid and get yourself killed in the process. Let me watch your back. The librarian can get another badge to shadow her.”


 
“I already have someone watching me.”


 
I straighten. “One of the boys in blue?”


 
“Actually a few. They alternate nights. When I’m at the office, or courtside, the detectives and sheriffs here have my back. Contessa will be—”


 
“Contessa? Is that even a real name?” Declan coughs into his fist in a lame attempt to muffle his laugh. “Damn. If it doesn’t mean ‘I have a stick rammed up my ass,’ I don’t know what does.”


 
My remark only makes my big bro laugh harder. “She’s . . . intense, and at times rigid, I’ll give you that.”


 
“Like I said, stick up the ass.”


 
“She’s a hard worker and a nice young lady, I assure you.”


 
I assure you, I repeat in my head. Okay, the Philly boy has officially left the building.


 
“Curran, just take the assignment. From what we hear, Montenegro isn’t going to go to prison without making a lot of noise. The badges assigned to this case have the smarts to watch my back and theirs.”


 
“But no one’s guarding the poor homely intern’s back. I get it.”


 
A sly grin edges across his face. “I never said she was homely, bro.”

Customer Reviews