Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Once Upon a Nightwish: The Official Biography 1996 - 2006

Once Upon a Nightwish: The Official Biography 1996 - 2006

by Mape Ollila

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Hailing from the tiny hamlet of Kitee, Finland (pop. 10,000) Nightwish has captivated the world's imagination with magical million-selling releases like Once, Century Child, and Wishmaster. Their saga is a heavy metal fable as dramatic and tumultuous as the band's epic symphonic music. In these details and confessions, a vivid and painfully honest portrait of a musical dream emerges—and tensions swell as a split with original singer Tarja Turunen becomes inevitable.

In this remarkably revealing official biography, author Mape Ollila charts the rise from village student project to global stardom, gaining unprecedented access not just to the members of Nightwish past and present; but also their families, their loyal and lewd crew, their peers, their critics, and countless other insiders from the Nightwish adventure. The book lays bare the creative firepower and personal demons of songwriter Tuomas Holopainen; the unique talents and traits of guitarist Emppu Vuorinen, drummer Jukka Nevalainen, and bassist Marco Hietala; and the true reasons behind the 2005 departure of vocalist Tarja Turunen—in the band's words and hers.

Along the way, the band struggles with religious protesters, fortune-tellers, naked crew members, health problems, shady promoters, out-of-control fans, and the growing pains of an ever-steeper rock star learning curve. Happily ever after or not, these unique Finnish personalities are brought to life in this journey into the mysteries of...Once Upon a Nightwish.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013788589
Publisher: Bazillion Points
Publication date: 12/07/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 352
File size: 1 MB

Customer Reviews