One for the Road

One for the Road

by Edgar J. Rossi
5.0 4

Paperback

$13.75 $14.99 Save 8% Current price is $13.75, Original price is $14.99. You Save 8%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

One for the Road by Edgar J. Rossi

1948. LAS VEGAS. JOHNNY FLAMINGO COMES TO TOWN AND NOIR NEVER LOOKED SO DARK.
When a drifter arrives in 1948 Las Vegas, he finds a local casino overrun by two feuding factions of the same organized crime outfit. Looking for trouble and profit, he decides to play both sides against each other. After all, it is a city made for gambling. But will the dimwitted mafiosi prove too clever for him? And will this anchorless, morally flexible drifter let his emotions get in his way?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780615510521
Publisher: ZOVA Books
Publication date: 07/31/2011
Pages: 208
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.52(d)

About the Author

Edgar J. Rossi was born and raised in Southern California. He has worked as a bartender, a celebrity bodyguard, and a freelance writer. He has a degree in writing and has never regretted it. Now he spends his free time writing stories that he feels he would want to read. He lives in Las Vegas with his extensive old movie collection and cat named Chandler.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One for the Road 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
meglett More than 1 year ago
Right at the beginning, you are hooked. I just couldn't put it down. A coin toss determines if you go east or west. 1948 Vegas where mobsters are fighting for the control of power & gambling. You have gun shots, fights, drinking, and interesting characters. A drifter at first seems to be looking for a job but is there more to him? Loved the characters names like Fat Head, Meatheads, Little Benny and Lou. This noir worth reading if you loved Raymond Chandler style! Enjoy.
Fairhaven More than 1 year ago
This book took me by surprise. Slow at first, like a good drink, it ended with a kick in the pants. Johnny Flamingo is the quintessential noire anti-hero. When he walks into 1940s Las Vegas, he quickly comes across a creaky casino run by two men with very different ideas. Out to make a little cash and whole lot of trouble, Flamingo lights the flames between the two parties just in time for the casino's grand reopening. Throw in some guns, whiskey and women, and this is one week Las Vegas will never forget.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Downloaded this and rocketed through it. Loved the dialogue and characters. This time period in Vegas is so interesting and its fun to see a fictional portrayal of the mob in sin city. The antihero is relatable, funny, vicious, and hard drinking: perfect noir characteristics. Worth it.
Hamlet More than 1 year ago
Edgar J. Rossi combines the best aspects of true, classic noir with the seedy beginnings of 1948 Las Vegas. His character is everything a noir reader would want - a good guy turned bad by the way now drifting from town to town bringing the dark clouds with him. If you are looking for a book in the vein of Hammett and Chandler, then this would be an excellent choice. A quick and fun roller coaster of a read. Every chapter is action packed and brings the reader to the stunning conclusion.