One Hundred Years from Now [Bonus Track]

One Hundred Years from Now [Bonus Track]

by Dennis DeYoung


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


One Hundred Years from Now [Bonus Track]

Dennis DeYoung spent a fair chunk of his solo career denying the very sound of Styx (not quite the same thing as denying their songs, which he would continue to sing), going as far as Broadway to distinguish himself from the band and writing concept albums. One Hundred Years from Now, initially released in Canada in 2007 and appearing two years later in the States, retains some dramatic elements, but despite some heavy themes, it's more notable for its sound. It hits hard, sometimes bordering on heavy, fueled by arena hooks and power ballads, sounding more like Styx than any of his other albums, but One Hundred Years from Now isn't necessarily a throwback, thanks in part to DeYoung actively pondering the fate of the modern world, ranting against CNN, sneering about "who needs reality when you've got gigabytes" and singing a song about keeping hope alive. He might wonder what everything will look like in a century, but this is rooted in the 20th century, right down to the bleating synth sounds and thundering guitar that color these outsized rockers, but there's conviction in DeYoung's delivery and he simply sounds at home belting out power rockers and, especially, power ballads, both of which are in abundance here. It's that familiarity factor that works wonders for One Hundred Years from Now -- he's waited long enough to pursue this sound that he now approaches it with fresh ears, not necessarily reinventing it but reinvigorating it, resulting in his best solo album yet. [The CD was also released in a version having a different track order, leaving off "Respect Me," and adding "Private Jones" and "There Was a Time."] ~ Stephen Thomas Erleinwe

Product Details

Release Date: 04/14/2009
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661908420
catalogNumber: 619084

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dennis DeYoung   Primary Artist,Drums,Keyboards,Vocals
Tom Dziallo   Dobro,Electric Guitar
John Rice   Acoustic Guitar
Hank Horton   Bass,Drums,Vocals
John Blasucci   Keyboards
Kevin Chalfant   Vocals
Kyle Woodring   Bass,Drums
Stephane Dufour   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Stephane Dufour   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Matthew Deyoung   Drums
Jimmy Leahey   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Ernie Denov   Electric Guitar
Suzanne DeYoung   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Dennis DeYoung   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Phil Bonanno   Engineer
Craig Bauer   Engineer
Matthew Prock   Engineer
Robert Addison   Artwork
Jeff Breakey   Engineer
Stephane Dufour   Engineer
Scott Daoust   Graphic Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews