Paperback(New Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


One Man's West, New Edition by David Lavender

The American West of the 1930s and 1940s was still a place of prospectors, cowboys, ranchers, and mountaineers, one that demanded backbreaking, lonely, and dangerous work. Still, midcentury pioneers such as David Lavender remembered “not the cold and the cruel fatigue, but rather the multitude of tiny things which in their sum make up the elemental poetry of rock and ice and snow.” And as the nation exhausted its gold and silver veins, as law reached the boomtowns on the frontier, and as the era of the great cattle ranches and drives came to an end, Lavender felt compelled to document his experiences in rugged southwest Colorado to preserve this rapidly disappearing way of life. One Man’s West is Lavender’s ode to his days on the Continental Divide and the story of his experiences making a living in the not so wild but not yet tamed West. Like stories told around a campfire, One Man’s West is captivating yet conversational, incredible yet realistic, and introduces some of the most charming characters in western literature.
This new Bison Books edition features an introduction and afterword by the author’s son that discuss other phases and facets of his father’s remarkable life, as well as a tribute to the author by his grandson. It also includes nine new photographs from the Lavender family archives.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780803260306
Publisher: UNP - Bison Books
Publication date: 08/28/2007
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 1,224,661
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.77(d)

About the Author

David Lavender (1910–2003) was a historian of the American West whose many books include The Way to the Western Sea: Lewis and Clark across the Continent, Westward Vision: The Story of the Oregon Trail, and Bent’s Fort, all available in Bison Books editions. David G. Lavender is the author’s son and David W. Lavender is the author’s grandson.

Table of Contents

I Winter Trail
II Boarding at Timber Line
III Underground
IV A Bath for Easter
V Summer Pastoral
VI High-Altitude Athletics
VII The Long Wait
VIII Moving Up
IX Greasy Sack
X Sandrock
XI Mormon Cowboy
XII Summer Again
XIII Ropes, Guns, and Practical Jokes
XIV Bunch Grass
XV Crrazy as a Sheepherder
XVI Canyon Camp
XVII Christmas in the Rimrock
XVIII Uranium

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews