One More for the Road

One More for the Road

by Curtis StigersCurtis Stigers


$13.92 $15.99 Save 13% Current price is $13.92, Original price is $15.99. You Save 13%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, February 24
6 New & Used Starting at $2.99


Just in case the title One More for the Road didn't suggest Sinatra, Curtis Stigers underscores his debt to the Chairman of the Board by patterning the artwork for this 2017 collaboration with the Danish Radio Big Band after 1966's Sinatra at The Sands. In fact, One More for the Road is something of a salute to that 1966 record, containing eight songs from that double album and adhering to the snazzy swing of late-period Frank. Stigers even channels that sensibility into "Summer Wind," a gentle breeze of a single, and that's one of the distinguishing factors of One More for the Road. Another distinguishing factor is the cheerful blare of the Dutch Radio Big Band, who are big and brassy without overwhelming the singer. For his part, Stigers doesn't mimic Sinatra, appropriating just a bit of swagger -- and, sometimes, the arrangements -- but plays with his phrasing and alternates between crisp enunciation and elongated notes. This is enough to make One More for the Road something a bit different than a straight-up tribute to Ol' Blue Eyes because it shows how Stigers can hold his presence on-stage while sharing the spotlight with his idol.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/20/2017
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072018501
catalogNumber: 00011
Rank: 97423

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Curtis Stigers   Primary Artist
Anders Gaardmand   Saxophone,Group Member
Vincent Nilsson   Trombone,Group Member
Gerard Presencer   Trumpet,Group Member
Anders Gustafsson   Trumpet,Group Member
Steen Hansen   Trombone,Group Member
Hans Ulrik   Saxophone,Group Member
Peter Fuglsang   Saxophone,Group Member
Claus Waidtlow   Saxophone,Group Member
Lars Erik Gudim   Conductor
Karl-Martin Almqvist   Saxophone
Thomas Kjærgaard   Trumpet,Group Member
Nicolai Schultz   Saxophone,Group Member
Christer Gustafsson   Trumpet,Group Member
Henrik Gunde   Piano
Mads la Cour   Trumpet,Group Member
Per Gade   Guitar
André Jensen   Trombone,Group Member
Soren Frost   Drums
Kasper Wagner   Saxophone
Kasper Vadsholt   Bass
Michael Mølhede   Trumpet
Annette Saxe   Trombone,Group Member
Kevin Christensen   Trombone,Group Member

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Quincy Jones   Arranger
Billy May   Arranger
Danish Radio Big Band   Engineer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Josef Myrow   Composer
Curtis Stigers   Producer
Rube Bloom   Composer
Billy Byers   Arranger
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Lars Christensen   Stage Technician
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Mack Gordon   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Henry Mayer   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Nelson Riddle   Arranger
Cole Porter   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Marina Chavez   Cover Photo
Ted Koehler   Composer
Bill Miller   Arranger
Hans Bradtke   Composer
Ossian Ryner   Engineer
Henrik Gunde   Adaptation
Bart Howard   Composer
Peter Jensen   Arranger
Carl Hyde   Back Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews