One Winter's Day: An uplifting holiday romance

One Winter's Day: An uplifting holiday romance

by Laura Briggs

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23

Overview

If only falling in love was as easy as baking a cake…



Ama’s loved baking ever since she can remember. Desserts, cakes, cookies – anything sweet, delicious and sinful. The kitchen is the only place where she can be truly herself.



But – as she starts work on the biggest cake she has ever made – for a couple’s magical winter wedding – she realises just how much she secretly dreams of falling in love too.



Then she meets a handsome man on a motorbike who sets her pulse racing. But Ama knows it can never be. Because he’s her very traditional parents’ absolute worst nightmare… And she knows she can never let them down.



Do her family know best? Or can she trust her heart? And, as the snow begins to fall, will she ever find out what really does go into the recipe for true love?



The perfect feel-good winter romance for 2018 for fans of Debbie Macomber, Jenny Colgan and Jenny Hale.

Praise for Laura Briggs:



‘A little bit of everything to tempt you… You know when you near the end of a story and wish it could carry on well this is exactly what I was feeling when I was reading those last few chapters… Beautiful, sweet and romantic!’ Rae Reads, 5 stars



Loved this … sweet romance and the storyline was great! I highly recommend!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars



I absolutely loved this gorgeous story, straight from the beginning I was hooked on the characters and the storyline… a wonderful, sweet, feel-good read... Get whisked away by Laura to the charming town and enjoy your stay there.Katie’s Book Cave, 5 stars



I absolutely loved this.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars



‘A little gem of a read… I was fully invested in Tessa and the girls and backed them all the way, wanting everything to work out for them, so they could all achieve their dreams.’ Zooloo’s Book Blog



‘A sweet and lighthearted read, perfect for summer!’ Read More Sleep Less



‘This is perfect chick lit.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars



‘The story is lovely and fluently written. I loved all the characters… An entertaining feel good book for everybody who loves a good wedding and people who are not afraid to take their future in their own hands.’ B for Book Review, 5 stars



Light hearted and entertaining… tender and loving… such a lovely romantic book… Would definitely recommend!’ Stardust Book Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786816757
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 10/09/2018
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 530,106
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.82(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One Winter's Day: An uplifting holiday romance 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
gaele More than 1 year ago
Tessa, Ama and Natalie couldn’t be more different or more similar, and their skills in their new and struggling wedding planning business work neatly together. Ama is of Indian descent, but all she really wants to do is bake fine pastries and find a man who will sweep her off her feet, not just a marriage to a man picked by her family. Natalie’s heart is in fashion and design, and really isn’t all that interested in romance. With her boisterous Italian family always being involved in every step of her life, and none quite understanding her casual approach to dating, she’s stuck between finding the courage to break out with her own label, and trying to keep the ‘neighbor boy’ from completely inserting himself into her life. Lastly there’s Tessa with her bad history of falling too fast, with a major crush on their ‘handyman / fourth partner Blake’ after a kiss rocked her world months before. But she’s desperate that things don’t change or get any more awkward, and frequent battles with Blake’s true love of restoration and renovation with purpose clash dramatically with Tessa’s need for ‘artistic expression’. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect here – and while I got a solid sense of everyone’s struggles with romance and relationships - most prevalent with Ama and Natalie whose families and parents were omnipresent and occasionally tone-deaf to what the women were trying to say. Ama had the worst of it by far: as she lives and works with her siblings, aunt and parents and while she’s trying to respect their more traditional aspects of life, she’s obviously got viewpoints and dreams that don’t fit with their expectations of what her life should become. Natalie’s family is omnipresent even though she has her own space – the calls, the requests for help or to come to meals, that overbearing expectation of a family that loves you to bits but doesn’t understand your own desire (or perhaps even doesn’t listen), all wrapped up with a childhood friend that everyone (including him) sees as a match for you. Tessa was a bit of the ‘tough girl I’ve got everything handled’ until I get in the presence of Blake and then I go into teenaged girl blushing - I was expecting her to punch his shoulder at any moment. She’s also worried about the future of her new partnership with the girls and their wedding planning business, not wanting to go back to the children’s party circuit with her first boss – all concerns she hasn’t shared with the others as she’s the ‘business head’ in their group – and it is she who manages the money and bills. Honestly I was confused for most of this story as there wasn’t any real conclusions for anyone – each was mired in their own struggles with their dreams and families, and when you added in the wedding that they are planning with two very disparate mothers of the bride and groom – the funniest parts of the story were the interactions and reactions from the mothers and the mishaps that led up to the wedding. There was little to no growth for Natalie, while Ama actually finally found someone who has potential, even as she hasn’t told her family the whole story yet. Tessa – well we left her drowning her sorrows about Blake in icecream and cocoa on her mother’s sofa. No real resolution or forward progress for any but Ama, and even her progress was miniscule as her own guilt and need to please her parents was overriding her own desires. The writing here was okay, and while I could clearly imagine the smells, taste
SammyReadsBooks 9 months ago
“One Winter’s Day” by Laura Briggs tells the stories of three friends who own a wedding planning business, Wedding Belles. This is the second book in a series however I did not read the first book and do not think you need to to fully understand this story. With that said, I do plan on getting the first book to read now that I’m finished with this one. Tessa, Ama, and Natalie are partners in a wedding planning business with a fourth “silent” partner, Blake. They are new to this industry, but each has their strengths to keep their business afloat. They take on new clients, Nadia and Lyle, and only have a short amount of time to get the wedding planned. It seems that the Wedding Belles are jinxed though as things just keep going wrong. and the bride and groom’s over-involved mothers aren’t making anything easier for the Belles. While the ladies stress about getting things right for the couple they are also dealing with their own love lives. Will the girls find happiness in their personal lives while finding success in their business? You’ll need to read this cute, romantic novel to find out! I had a hard time with my rating of this book. If 3.5 stars were an option that would have been my rating, but I had to go with 3 stars. I think the author does a great job with her descriptions and attention to details especially when it comes to wedding details like the dress and the cake. However, “One Winter’s Day” was a little long for a romance in my opinion. I also had a hard time figuring out what day/month it was. One day it was Thanksgiving and then it was the wedding, but I think having a better idea of the timeline would make this book a little easier to read. With that said I am looking forward to the next book in the series to see what happens with the Belles and their love lives. Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.