Only Ever You: A glamorous historical romance

Only Ever You: A glamorous historical romance

by Kate Kerrigan

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99 $5.49 Save 9% Current price is $4.99, Original price is $5.49. You Save 9%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

WINNER OF RNA HISTORICAL ROMANCE NOVEL OF THE YEAR.

This is the story of three women and one charismatic man. A glamorous historical romance, perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

It is 1950s New York, the time of dance halls, swing bands and the beginning of rock and roll. In The Emerald, Ava Brogan dances the night away, knowing that she will never be pretty like the other Irish girls there, wishing her mother wouldn't keep plotting to find her a husband.

Here, too, Sheila Klein, Holocaust orphan, dreams of finding a star and making her name in the music industry. Tough and cynical, she has never let her heart be broken by any man.

Enter Patrick Murphy, with a sublime voice, a hit song in his back pocket and charisma to burn. Ava and Sheila's worlds are about to be turned upside down. They do not know that Patrick's first great love from Ireland is on her way to New York – determined to find and get her man at all costs. Beautiful Rose is used to getting what she wants in life and that's not about to change any time soon.

What people are saying about ONLY EVER YOU:

'Kate Kerrigan has exactly captured the emotion and consuming passion of first love. Truly lovely'

'I absolutely loved this book, it is pure romance'

'This was my first introduction to Kate Kerrigan, but before I even picked up the book I knew I'd been missing out!'

'A classic love story with a musical twist'

*Originally published as It Was Only Ever You.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781784082406
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Publication date: 10/06/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 249,847
File size: 6 MB

About the Author

Kate Kerrigan lives in County Mayo, Eire, with her husband and children. Her novels include Recipes for a Perfect Marriage, shortlisted for the 2006 Romantic Novel of the Year Award and Ellis Island, which was a TV Book Club Summer Read.


Kate Kerrigan is a New York Times bestselling author whose novels have been translated into fifteen languages. Kate worked as an editor and journalist, editing many of Britain's most successful young women's magazines before returning to her native Ireland in the 1990s to edit Irish Tatler. She has a weekly column in the Irish edition of the Daily Mail and contributes regularly to the RTÉ Radio programme Sunday Miscellany. katekerrigan.org @katekerrigan

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Only Ever You: A glamorous historical romance 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
gaele More than 1 year ago
Staring off, the story felt a bit disjointed as it begins with a Holocaust survivor and their struggles and then we find ourselves in County Mayo where we meet a charismatic, handsome and talented Patrick, determined to make his mark on the world as a singer. He’s exciting and different from most, and that is one of the reasons that Rose, a renowned beauty, is in love with him. These two are destined to fail as a couple from the start, since neither is prone to thought or examination of motives, and this makes them far too easily manipulated. With the end of this relationship, Patrick is off to New York seeking fortune and fame. In New York, Patrick’s desires for love bring him to Ava: wealthy and clever, but not a beauty. His eyes and future are guided by yet another woman, Sheila, who is determined to make every move necessary to have him, and make his dreams of fame and fortune come true. Of course, even with her own issues and the ocean between them, Rose isn’t willing to let the hope for her love with Patrick go. Confused yet? I was. And it wasn’t helped by the lack of actual build to the characters that was more than stereotype. From the women who were obsessed with ‘winning’ the man, one upping one another and appearing to be willing to do anything to get a win, they were tiring, and I found myself uninterested in the relationship that they each purported to have with Patrick. For his part, Patrick seemed to find himself without the ability to control his heart: an immaturity issue that seemed to be the overriding personality trait of an otherwise flat character. Descriptions of sights, sounds, clothing and setting were wonderful, but even that couldn’t bring me to make the comparisons held in the synopsis of this title. Sadly, this was a miss for me because of the characters that were all too familiar and flat in their construct. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
AliTheDragonSlayer More than 1 year ago
Now I will be honest and say I have never read anything by Kate Kerrigan before, not even sure if her name has hit my radar but as soon as I spotted that cover I just had to read It Was Only Ever You. Just take another look at how beautiful the dress is, my favourite colour and style. I’m lucky enough to have received a paperback copy from the publisher and it is truly gorgeous. Anyway, did the story live up to my expectations based on the front!? Yes it did. It actually involves a couple of my other favourite things, the 1950’s and New York so I knew I was on to a winner. Kate writes with a flourish that immediately pulls you into the scene. The naivety of Ireland and the glamour of NYC make for an interesting combination for a setting. This follows the lives of three women all very different personalities and one man … that lays down the foundation for a complex romance inter-weaved with class and nationality issues reminiscent of the era. I loved the music and fashion aspect along with the historical facts .. I went through phases of liking a different character pretty much each time I picked the book up. There is passion, drama and plenty of atmosphere in the dance halls, if you are a rock and roll fan then whisk yourself away with this book and enjoy the dancing. I enjoyed the authors style and would definitely read more by her. My thanks to the publisher and author for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.