Pub. Date:
Oresteia: Agamemnon. Libation-Bearers. Eumenides

Oresteia: Agamemnon. Libation-Bearers. Eumenides

by AeschylusAeschylus


Current price is , Original price is $28.0. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


Aeschylus (ca. 525–456 BCE), the dramatist who made Athenian tragedy one of the world’s great art forms, witnessed the establishment of democracy at Athens and fought against the Persians at Marathon. He won the tragic prize at the City Dionysia thirteen times between ca. 499 and 458, and in his later years was probably victorious almost every time he put on a production, though Sophocles beat him at least once.

Of his total of about eighty plays, seven survive complete. The second volume contains the complete Oresteia trilogy, comprising Agamemnon, Libation-Bearers, and Eumenides, presenting the murder of Agamemnon by his wife, the revenge taken by their son Orestes, the pursuit of Orestes by his mother’s avenging Furies, his trial and acquittal at Athens, Athena’s pacification of the Furies, and the blessings they both invoke upon the Athenian people.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780674996281
Publisher: Harvard
Publication date: 01/31/2009
Series: Loeb Classical Library , #146
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 544
Sales rank: 563,991
Product dimensions: 4.50(w) x 6.40(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Alan H. Sommerstein is Professor of Greek, University of Nottingham.

Table of Contents

  • Preface
  • Introduction
  • Bibliography
  • Sigla
  • Abbreviations

  • Agamemnon
  • Libation-Bearers
  • Eumenides

  • Index

Customer Reviews