Orfeo Fantasia

Orfeo Fantasia

by Charles Daniels

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/27/2005
Label: Atma Classique
UPC: 0722056233729
catalogNumber: 22337


  1. Work(s): Harpsichord transcription of Dowland's "Lachrimæ"
  2. La favola d'Orfeo, opera, SV 318: Prologue. Ritornello
  3. La favola d'Orfeo, opera, SV 318: Act 1. Air d'Orphée. Rosa del ciel
  4. My hope is revived
  5. My Joyes are Comming. the Lady of Bedfords Delight
  6. Quel espoir de guarir
  7. La Rossignol, for 2 lutes
  8. Odi, Euterpe
  9. La favola d'Orfeo, opera, SV 318: Act 2. Air d'Orphée. Vi ricorda, o boschi
  10. Toccata for keyboard (from the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book)
  11. Lamento D'Orfeo
  12. Work(s): Transcription for two lutes of Dowland's "Lachrimæ
  13. Lasso vita mia, mi fa morire, for voice, trumpet, bass viols & lute (A Pilgrimes Solace)
  14. Cease Leaden Slumber, the Queens New-yeeres Gift (from Captaine Humes Poeticall Musicke)
  15. La favola d'Orfeo, opera, SV 318: Prologue. Ritornello
  16. La favola d'Orfeo, opera, SV 318: Act 5. Lamento d'Orphée. Questi i campi di Tracia
  17. Flow, my tears, fall from your springs, for 2 voices & lute (Second Book of Songs)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Orfeo Fantasia 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
"Orfeo: Fantasia" presents a variety of early music inspired by the Orpheus legend, and features both instrumental and vocal works by the likes of Caccini, Dowland and Monteverdi. The collection is a colorful tapestry of various musical textures: solo harpsichord, lute duets, music for broken consort, monodic airs, and early opera. Late Renaissance compositions blend with early Baroque works in a manner that blurs the distinction between the two eras. For example, the descending motif that begins the melody of Dowland's "Flow My Tears" is echoed in the ritornello from Monteverdi's "L'Orfeo." Charles Daniels' sonorous, resonant tenor is well suited to passionate interpretations of these emotive pieces. The instrumental performances are equally impressive. A particular favorite of mine is "La Rossignol," a lute duet that effectively blends the charm of the Renaissance with a mysterious Medieval quality. "Orfeo: Fantasia" should impress listeners whose familiarity with classical music doesn't run earlier than the high Baroque era. For the early music fan, this disc is a delight.