Otero War

Otero War

by Caveman


$10.82 $11.99 Save 10% Current price is $10.82, Original price is $11.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Otero War

After three years between albums, Caveman return with a new label (the first rock outfit to sign with hip-hop label Cinematic Music Group) and a new attitude on their third full-length, Otero War. The Brooklyn quintet still use atmospheric synths and a layered approach to their warm indie rock, but emerge from the wallowing haze of 2013's Caveman with crisper, more assertive production. Right from track one, the propulsive "Never Going Back" delivers melodic hooks and more pronounced drums, encouraging toes to tap. However, it remains anchored to a reflective spirit that marks the vast majority of the band's output. That's especially evident on the ballad "The State of Mind," which employs string voices and sustained synth chords under a vulnerable performance by lead singer and main songwriter Matt Iwanusa. A later, more intense track is the guitar-squalling, cymbal-crashing "I Need You in My Life," a rocking plea for a better version of oneself. Overall, though, the tone is more uplifting, almost seeming to sigh with a weightlessness rarely sensed on prior releases. Outright celebratory tunes like "Life or Just Living" ("It's just the way I am/What a feeling") and "Lean on You" seem to make a play for radio, if the figurative FM dial. On the whole, Otero War finds the group sounding notably more comfortable in their own skin.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/17/2016
Label: Cinematic Music
UPC: 0693461247024
catalogNumber: 2470
Rank: 168102

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Caveman   Primary Artist
Ward Williams   Strings
Scott Stapleton   Piano
Stefan Marolachakis   Drums,Vocals
Jimmy Carbonetti   Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar,Group Member
Matt Iwanusa   Synthesizer,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Dan Iead   Pedal Steel Guitar
Christiana Liberis   Strings
Sam Hopkins   Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Matthew Prescott Clark   Percussion,Group Member
Jeff Barre   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Greg Wizourick   Percussion

Technical Credits

Johnny T   Executive Producer
Matt Iwanusa   Art Direction
Philip DiFiore   Inside Photo,Band Photo
Jonny Shipes   Executive Producer
Nathan Cyr   Art Direction
Marc Erick   Artwork
Kahim Sm   Artwork
Chuck Iwan   String Arrangements
Chris Yering   Collage
Albert Di Fi   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews