The Other

The Other

Paperback

$15.40 $15.95 Save 3% Current price is $15.4, Original price is $15.95. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, September 25?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

The Other by Thomas Tryon

Holland and Niles Perry are identical thirteen-year-old twins. They are close, close enough, almost, to read each other’s thoughts, but they couldn’t be more different. Holland is bold and mischievous, a bad influence, while Niles is kind and eager to please, the sort of boy who makes parents proud. The Perrys live in the bucolic New England town their family settled centuries ago, and as it happens, the extended clan has gathered at its ancestral farm this summer to mourn the death of the twins’ father in a most unfortunate accident. Mrs. Perry still hasn’t recovered from the shock of her husband’s gruesome end and stays sequestered in her room, leaving her sons to roam free. As the summer goes on, though, and Holland’s pranks become increasingly sinister, Niles finds he can no longer make excuses for his brother’s actions.

Thomas Tryon’s best-selling novel about a homegrown monster is an eerie examination of the darkness that dwells within everyone. It is a landmark of psychological horror that is a worthy descendent of the books of James Hogg, Robert Louis Stevenson, Shirley Jackson, and Patricia Highsmith.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781590175835
Publisher: New York Review Books
Publication date: 10/02/2012
Series: NYRB Classics Series
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 167,831
Product dimensions: 7.80(w) x 5.00(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Thomas Tryon (1926–1991) was born in Hartford, Connecticut into a family whose New England roots stretch back to the seventeenth century. After serving in the navy during World War II , he attended Yale, and upon graduation began an acting career that would take him from a made-for-television Disney western to Hollywood, where he was featured in several B movies as well as Otto Preminger’s The Cardinal. Preminger’s treatment of Tryon was so cruel as to become a Hollywood legend, and Tryon turned to writing. His first book, The Other (1971), was an immediate success, spending more than six months on the New York Times best-seller list and allowing him to quit acting for good; a film adaptation, with a screenplay by Tryon and directed by Robert Mulligan, appeared in 1972. Tryon wrote two more novels set in the fictional Pequot Landing of The Other, Harvest Home (1973) and Lady (1974), before turning to works like All That Glitters (1986), that explore the dark side of the golden age of Hollywood. At the time of his death Tryon was working on a historical trilogy set in early nineteenth-century Connecticut.

Dan Chaon’s most recent book is Stay Awake, a short-story collection. He is the author of the novels You Remind Me of Me and Await Your Reply, as well as of the story collections Fitting Ends and Among the Missing, which was a finalist for the 2001 National Book Award. His stories have appeared in Best American Short Stories, The Pushcart Prize Anthologies, and The O. Henry Prize Stories. He teaches at Oberlin College, where he is the Pauline Delaney Professor of Creative Writing and Literature.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Other 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Other is less a horror novel and more a densely written, slowly building novel of obsession and exquisitely rendered psychological suspense. There are elements of horror, yes, but compared to other horror novels of the same period such as Rosemary's Baby, Carrie, and The Exorcist, it lacks their immediate, viceral punch. The Other is a quiet novel that starts out slowly, very slowly. You really do have to be patient, but the reader is well rewarded for his efforts. As the novel nears it climax, the story becomes dizzying, dark, and dreadful all at once. Even if you can see the twists coming (and many of you will, as other authors and film makers have borrowed liberally from the central conceit of this story), it is too scary to put down. Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When Thomas Tryon's acting career was a flop, and became a novelst, he wrote a complex horror novel called 'The Other.' It is about twin brothers, Niles, and Holland, who are very different fron eachother, despite outside features. Their grandmother, Ada, has taught Niles how to play a game. And what is the result of a string of deaths happening at their farm in the summer of 1935? Only reading this book will tell you. Also check out the 1972 movie, it is also very outstanding.
mrsbrimtown More than 1 year ago
I'd been meaning to read this for years. It's been mentioned by several authors in interviews and forwards. It lives up to all I've heard. Starts out nice and normal, sort of. But about 1/2 way through things become creepy and awful. Great!
Anonymous 5 months ago
Have read this 3 times, years apart. Very different
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although at times it kept me intrigued I was not fully engaged in the story at other times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't reccomend this book highly enough. I more or less stumbled upon this book by accident and had my fingers crossed that it would be worthwhile...I was not let down. I have not taken the time to write a review more than twice over the last 5 years...but i had to say something about this book. Horror being my favorite genre, there are not many books out there where I haven't guessed the ending correctly, if not from the middle of the book...then from the opening chapters. I was plesantly shocked, confused, taken aback, heart-racing & palms sweaty almost dropped my nook throughout the reading of this book. I was several times overall "horrified" by the events that took place in the book. I mentioned "confusion" to be one of the side effecrs of reading this novel: by which I mean to say I made my guesses as to "who did it" and "what's going to happen" and was completely or partially wrong many, many times throughout this novel. If you're looking for a great book=read this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly recommend this novel! If you enjoy a twisted dark story I suggest you buy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheBookWizard More than 1 year ago
The Other is a classic 70s horror novel with scares and twists that keep the pages turning.  Tyron builds his story and his characters methodically, before ending with a punch- which is just my style!  I recommend this book for fans of Rosemary's Baby, The Haunting on Hill House, etc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SUCKED !