The Other Wind (Earthsea Series #5)

The Other Wind (Earthsea Series #5)

by Ursula K. Le Guin
4.3 18


$7.73 $9.99 Save 23% Current price is $7.73, Original price is $9.99. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 


The Other Wind (Earthsea Series #5) by Ursula K. Le Guin

The sorcerer Alder fears sleep. The dead are pulling him to them at night. Through him they may free themselves and invade Earthsea. Alder seeks advice from Ged, once Archmage. Ged tells him to go to Tenar, Tehanu, and the young king at Havnor. They are joined by amber-eyed Irian, a fierce dragon able to assume the shape of a woman. The threat can be confronted only in the Immanent Grove on Roke, the holiest place in the world and there the king, hero, sage, wizard, and dragon make a last stand.
     In this final book of the Earthsea Cycle, Le Guin combines her magical fantasy with a profoundly human, earthly, humble touch.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780547722436
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date: 09/11/2012
Series: Earthsea Series , #5
Edition description: Reissue
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 513,084
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.70(d)
Lexile: 840L (what's this?)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

URSULA K. LE GUIN was born in Berkeley, California, in 1929. Among her honors are a National Book Award, five Hugo and five Nebula Awards, the Kafka Award, a Pushcart Prize, and the Harold D. Vursell Memorial Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She lives in Portland, Oregon.


Portland, Oregon

Date of Birth:

October 21, 1929

Place of Birth:

Berkeley, California


B.A., Radcliffe College; M.A., Columbia University, 1952

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Other Wind (Earthsea Series #5) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Other Wind is the winner of the 2001 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, and for a reason. The book is beautifully written and meticulously crafted; It's a concise book in which every word counts and has a reason for being there. It deals in a more mature way with themes that appeared in the previous four Earthsea novels: death, loss, greed, intelligence (represented by the wizards) vs. wisdom (represented by the witches, sorcerers and common folk), middle age and earthly (e.g. watering the cabbages) vs. epic (e.g. healing the world) concerns, the difference between men and women and how opposite things actually complement each other (light/darkness, silence/sound and, new in this book, destruction/healing); to name a few. I can understand why some people were disappointed with Tehanu, the previous novel in the series (although personally I liked it): it dealt almost exclusively with mundane life and its problems; the fantasy element was almost non-existent. The Other Wind, while still dealing with some of these issues, is a much more epic story. And since, as I mentioned above, it magnificently blends elements from all the previous novels, it should appeal to anybody who has read an Earthsea book in the past and liked it. The book also ties up neatly most of the threads from the previous books and answers most questions that were previously left unanswered. Unlike what many popular authors do these days, this book wasn't written by Le Guin to make quick money on a classic series. On the contrary: This is a book that demanded to be written. As any good book, it can be read on different levels and enjoyed by people of different ages and genders. The Other Wind is a book that deals maturely and, despite being concise, thoroughly with many themes and is the culmination of decades of constant work and refinement by Ursula Le Guin. Oren Douek
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Henzaru More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this conclusion to the Earthsea series. LeGuin is good at keeping a mystery interesting even as you learn about it. She also gives the reader a lot to think about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first finished reading Tehanu I thought it was the last book she would right! I was going berserk! I knew the story couldn't end like that! Once I read Other Wind I knew the end had come. Even though a few things seemed unfinished I am completely satisfied by the ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Readers who have read the first three Earthsea books find themselves unable to forget the characters of Ged and Tenar, whose stories come to a satisfactory climax in this final book. Le Guin's writing is always excellent, literate, and sheds light on the human condition. An excellent book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
im so happy that the author decided to write a new earthsea book #5 because Tehanu which was entitled the last book of earthsea was horrible! The other wind was much better but yet it wasnt as good as some of the previous ones. The story of Alder and his dreams i thought was interesting and it talks about some things in earthsea that werent covered very much like the dragons. The book had some boring parts to but over all it was pretty good
Guest More than 1 year ago
Earthsea #5 is a great book. It tells the story of Alder, who visits the dead when he sleeps. Earthsea #5 is very interesting in that most of the book is spent finding out what exactly is going wrong, while only the last 25 pages are spent actually solving the problem. It is very well written, and tells a great story. I highly recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
LeGuin ends the series with a spectacular conclusion. After Tenar, Ged and Tehanu begin to live their life together in Earthsea #4, this book continues the plot 15 years later. It begins with a man named Aldar who has trouble sleeping at night. This is because his wife has died, and she and many other spirits keep trying to free themselves out of the land of the dead through his dreams. Once he finds Ged, Ged tells him to go to Havnor to find Tenar, Tehanu, and the king. Irian, the dragon who can turn into a woman, joins them and together travel to Roke and meet with the masters there to settle 2 problems. 1)Why are the dragons acting strange and 2)How and why are the dead coming to Aldar in his dreams and how to settle it. This book ties all the books together and tells of what happens to Tehanu. All in all, this was the best book of the series exept maybe for Earthsea #1.