Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Otis Blue: Otis Redding Sings Soul

Otis Blue: Otis Redding Sings Soul

by Otis Redding Otis Redding
Otis Blue: Otis Redding Sings Soul

Otis Blue: Otis Redding Sings Soul

by Otis Redding Otis Redding


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 23


Otis Redding's third album, and his first fully realized album, presents his talent unfettered, his direction clear, and his confidence emboldened, with fully half the songs representing a reach that extended his musical grasp. More than a quarter of this album is given over to Redding's versions of songs by Sam Cooke, his idol, who had died the previous December, and all three are worth owning and hearing. Two of them, "A Change Is Gonna Come" and "Shake," are every bit as essential as any soul recordings ever made, and while they (and much of this album) have reappeared on several anthologies, it's useful to hear the songs from those sessions juxtaposed with each other, and with "Wonderful World," which is seldom compiled elsewhere. Also featured are Redding's spellbinding renditions of "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" (a song epitomizing the fully formed Stax/Volt sound and which Mick Jagger and Keith Richards originally wrote in tribute to and imitation of Redding's style), "My Girl," and "You Don't Miss Your Water." "Respect" and "I've Been Loving You Too Long," two originals that were to loom large in his career, are here as well; the former became vastly popular in the hands of Aretha Franklin and the latter was an instant soul classic. Among the seldom-cited jewels here is a rendition of B.B. King's "Rock Me Baby" that has the singer sharing the spotlight with Steve Cropper, his playing alternately elegant and fiery, with Wayne Jackson and Gene "Bowlegs" Miller's trumpets and Andrew Love's and Floyd Newman's saxes providing the backing. Redding's powerful, remarkable singing throughout makes Otis Blue gritty, rich, and achingly alive, and an essential listening experience.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/15/2008
Label: Rhino Flashback
UPC: 0081227991975
catalogNumber: 80318
Rank: 2478


  1. Ole Man Trouble
  2. Respect
  3. A Change Is Gonna Come
  4. Down In The Valley
  5. I've Been Loving You Too Long
  6. Shake
  7. My Girl
  8. Wonderful World
  9. Rock Me Baby
  10. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  11. You Don't Miss Your Water

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Otis Redding   Primary Artist,Vocals
William Bell   Background Vocals
Steve Cropper   Guitar
Joe Arnold   Tenor Saxophone
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Bass
Isaac Hayes   Keyboards
Wayne Jackson   Trumpet
Booker T. Jones   Keyboards
Andrew Love   Tenor Saxophone
Gene Miller   Trumpet
Floyd Newman   Baritone Saxophone
Earl Sims   Background Vocals
Al Jackson   Drums

Technical Credits

Herb Alpert   Composer
Solomon Burke   Composer
Sam Cooke   Composer
Smokey Robinson   Composer
Lou Adler   Composer
Yves Beauvais   Producer,Reissue Producer
Bert Berns   Composer
Tom Dowd   Engineer
Joe Martin   Composer
Bob Rolontz   Liner Notes
Jim Stewart   Producer
Stax Staff   Producer
Haig Adishian   Cover Design
Babe Chivian   Composer
Pete Sahula   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews