Our Love Is Here to Stay

Our Love Is Here to Stay

by Ruby Braff

CD(Jewel Case)

$10.44 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.44, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Our Love Is Here to Stay

Ruby Braff's career spanned from the 1940s until months before his death in early 2003. This 2011 release comes from two previously unissued sessions in the spring of 1998, not that they were substandard in any way, but just set aside as other projects were completed. The veteran cornetist was a master of subtlety and a consistently inspired improviser, while he sought to surround himself with a similar caliber of players. Guitarist Howard Alden (a frequent collaborator), alto saxophonist Chuck Wilson, rhythm guitarist Jon Wheatley, bassist Marshall Wood, and drummer Jim Gwin make up the main group. The performances feel like they came together with little more than a brief discussion, though there were some on-the-spot charts created by Braff with Alden's help. The delightful interplay is a constant factor throughout the sessions. The satisfying "Linger Awhile" showcases Braff's rich cornet, yet there is plenty of space to feature Wilson and Alden as well. "I'm Comin' Virginia" fell out of fashion by the time bop started dominating jazz, though in Braff's mind, good melodies never grew stale, as he proves in this loping, lyrical performance. "I Know That You Know" swings like mad with the addition of Scott Robinson on tenor sax (he joins Wilson in playing harmony to accompany Braff's opening solo), while Robinson's warm solo combines the influences of all of the great swing tenor saxophonists. The last four tracks add Robinson and trumpeter Jon-Erik Kellso (another gifted player somewhat in Braff's mold), providing a perfect foil for the leader in a snappy take of "'Deed I Do" and Braff's melancholy blues "Clear Water" (based on the changes to "Love Me or Love Me"). Wilson switches to clarinet for the deliberate, foot-tapping exploration of the old chestnut "The Darktown Strutters' Ball," in which the group avoids stating the melody outright and works its way around its chord progression in a superb Dixieland setting. Fans of Ruby Braff can only hope that more unissued treasures by the late great cornetist are revealed on future Arbors CDs to follow this top-drawer collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/12/2011
Label: Arbors Records
UPC: 0780941142624
catalogNumber: 19426
Rank: 143010

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ruby Braff   Primary Artist,Cornet
Howard Alden   Guitar
Scott Robinson   Tenor Saxophone
Jon-Erik Kellso   Trumpet
Marshall Wood   Bass
Jim Gwin   Drums
Chuck Wilson   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Jon Wheatley   Guitar

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Ruby Braff   Composer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Vernon Duke   Composer
Rube Bloom   Composer
Shelton Brooks   Composer
Anne Caldwell   Composer
Will Marion Cook   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Otto Harbach   Composer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Donald Heywood   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Doug Pomeroy   Engineer
Fred Rose   Composer
Vincent Rose   Composer
Alan Nahigian   Cover Photo
Mat Domber   Producer
Rachel Domber   Producer
Walter Hirsch   Composer
Sidney Mitchell   Composer
Harry Owens   Composer
Luke Melton   Cover Design
Sam Stept   Composer
Tom Hustad   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews